A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Problem Extrusion Caps not Showing
Posted: 11 May 2021 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2021-03-31

Hi there, I’m new to c4d and though I have experience on autodesk products. I do find modelling in c4d quite challenging. In this exemple, I want to extrude a spline derived form 2 ellipses but the extrusion doesn’t have caps even though they are ticked. It’ll be great if I could have some guidance as to how:

- have caps
- add volume
- unrelated to the extrude, the spline was originated from the “connect and delete” of 2 ellipses and vertical/horizontal splines splitting the ellipse rings in 4 quarters. The connect and delete results in a spline with the bottom right quarter missing. If anyone can explain it’ll be great.

Thanks

Laurent

Posted: 11 May 2021 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Laurent,

The first thing that comes to mind that the Spline> Object> “Close Spline” check-box was not active at one point.

The image shows that there are connections between the two shapes.

What the images tell me that there is more that went wrong. Please share, if possible, the project file; images are minimal. A project file must be zipped to be attached here. If you use cloud services (for security reasons), please only Dropbox, Amazon, Google, Apple, Adobe, and Wetransfer. Please never shorten the URL.

Please have a look below.

The Circle Spline has an option for Ellipse and for Ring.

The Extrude will produce Caps if the Spline is a fit and the parameters are set.

All the best

File Attachments
CV3_S24_drs_MOer_01.c4d.zip  (File Size: 46KB - Downloads: 148)
 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004
Maxon Master Trainer, VES, DCS

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials.