Static Image - Change selected clone colour
Posted: 10 November 2017 07:57 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2011-05-31

Hi Folks,

I have created a static image with 400 clones all the same color (blue) I want to change 180 of them to red. I have used a Cloner as a generator and spline-created and extruded, geometry for the clones.

I’m thinking this is either impossible, or ridiculously simple to achieve. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Steve

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2017 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4710
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Steve,

Please have a look at the attached file

Scene file:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/XXuiBS86vPDe4xTX2uf8l5iSANkCyZCkUqWWCaHqVf8

Set the Cloner Object to Black (Transform-Tab)

Then anything off in the Plain Effector, except the Parameter> Color> Color Mode


To get the separation between the colors, the MoGraph Clone Selection is used and the MG Selection Tag was dragged into the Plain Effector.

In the Material: the MoGraph Shader is used. It Produces in its current setting gray values. Black for none selected and white for selected.
To turn this into color, the Colorizer was used on “top” of the MoGraph Color Shader.

I hope that covers all needed points, if I missed one or more, please let me know.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2017 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2011-05-31

Hey Dr. Sassi,

Thanks for the speedy response. As always, super helpful! I was with you right to the end. Once I have created the material to your specs, do I place it on the cloner, or the sphere. Another question, assuming I can make it work with C4D materials, will this same workflow work with PBR materials, particularly Cycles4D or Octane?

Thanks again for your help!

Cheers,
Steve

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2017 09:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4710
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re very welcome, Steve.

Perhaps try the file below

Scene file:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/wC278G1PN4zeKyUOGhJvc2vqClJfdrKPjYlr8IzGWc9

This separates the material from the start. The workflow is here:

Cloner Object set to Object>Clones> Sort

The Plain Effector is set to Parameters> Others> Modify Clones

The MoGraph Selection works in the same way

Cycles4d and Octane, not on my machine, sorry.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
‹‹ Grass alpha (multi pass?)      Soft waves ››