Dynamic Particles & MoGraph: Setting up a Simulation Using a Standard Particle Emitter
Posted: 08 October 2017 04:25 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2016-12-05

Hello, during this tutorial, with the Dynamics tag selected, I could not set individual elements to “All” under the collisions tab, individual elements is missing. Compared to this tutorial, my attributes panel seems to be missing the tabs; Mass, Force, Soft Body, Cache as well? I’m using the Broadcast version R18 and R19.
Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 October 2017 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4780
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Johnny Adim,

Could it be that you have set the Rigid Dynamic Tag to the Object, instead of the Cloner Object? That would explain it. The Broadcast Version has some restrictions, but is of more open inside the MoGraph module.

https://www.maxon.net/en/products/infosites/product-comparison/

If not, please share an example scene. I’m happy to look into it.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2017 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2016-12-05

Hi Dr.Sassi,

Thanks for the reply.
In the tutorial he is actually setting the Rigid Dynamic Tag to the Emitter. It’s about 1:46 in the video.

” Well, all we have to do is select the emitter, right-click, and go to Simulation tag. Add a Rigid Body, and let’s press Play. Then, you will see that the emitter falls, but not the particles. So we need to correct something. With the Dynamics tag selected, you need to go to the Collisions tab and set the individual elements to All.”

As I previously posted, my Attributes panel is missing the individual elements, etc. and I’m using the Broadcast version.


Thanks!
Johnny Adim

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2017 01:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4780
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Johnny Adim,

“Dynamic Particles & MoGraph: Setting up a Simulation Using a Standard Particle Emitter”
https://www.cineversity.com/vidplaytut/dynamic_particles_mograph_using_mograph_to_emit_dynamic_objects

At 01:46 there is not a single Dynamic option visible in the interface. So:

Do we talk about the same tutorial?

The Dynamics work only, while in Broadcast, with the MoGraph module. To make this work with Broadcast, the tutorial above [link] was created. Dynamics will not work with the standard Particles by itself using the Broadcast version.

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2017 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2016-12-05

Hello, it is a different tutorial. The one I was trying to do is: https://www.cineversity.com/vidplaylist/dynamic_particles_mograph
So it looks to be that this was not a good tutorial for the Broadcast version. I will move on to the one you posted a link to.
Thank you for the info!
I actually started out with the Lite version in After Effects, then purchased Prime and just recently upgraded to Broadcast.

Question: Is there somewhere to tell when choosing tutorials if it will work with the Broadcast version or what version of C4D you need to do the tutorial?

Thanks,
Johnny

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 October 2017 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4780
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Johnny,

This is a link that points to the playlist, and if I’m not mistaken to the next not played movie, if autoplay is on.

The problem to specify which release and which version of that as well as other releases and version will work is kind of complex. Maxon has a tendency to move options from the bigger packages into the smaller, while increasing the options all over the place with each release (roughly said). Since it would be simple to say this was done with Release X and Version Y, newer releases might be able to create this as well, without the need to have the next bigger option. Older version might even be able to create parts of the series, or all, even a different package was used all together. No one uses everything all the time…
In other words, even to name the used package, e.g., Broadcast would not limit Prime to do certain things. To evaluate that, over time, and each year newly for the next release, given the past years of releases as prediction, seem a massive work, with way over two-and-a-half-thousand(!) tutorials.

I hope my, more or less, cryptic explanation made the core of the problem clear.

However, if you click on “Tutorials> Filter> Utilizes” and use MoGraph as only option and R19 (top pulldown), then 570 entries showed up today. Which is certainly a lot to go through.

Sorry that this is not more user-friendly. I guess everyone in the team wishes we could make that more comfortable to use.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile