A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Weaving Fibers
Posted: 27 April 2016 08:04 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2016-04-25

Does anyone know how to make a detailed yarn like material weaving itself like they do in this Nike commercial? https://vimeo.com/73986114
I am thinking something along the lines of using tracers and hair but I am trying to think of a technique that won’t completely kill my render time.

Posted: 27 April 2016 10:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi JessWThomas,

I have no insider knowledge (to this clip), so I might be wrong. :o)

Think of the yarn as a long (vs hight) animated 2D clip of these yarns. These are then formed along a spline. [Spline Wrap and Rail.] Perhaps two of them layered to increase the visual eye-candy/complexity. The spline could be generated by Tracer or any Formula option, or even the Formula Spline could be helpful here. It looks like the tip of the “image” is scaled down. These clips are produced with the final camera view and light direction in mind!

If you want to explore, go image by image, where the yarn goes out of the image [left upper corner, time 00:13] and the second before that. There should be a visible parallax! But none is visible to me by looking it frame by frame.