A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

New to C$d - I need a good set of basic tutorials on modeling/texture mapping
Posted: 10 April 2013 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-02-26

Hey there, I’m new to C4D and while I love the idea of Cineversity, I find it nearly impossible to navigate and find specific tutorials, specifically beginner level ones.
I managed to find the “Modeling 101” playlist by Patrick Goski, and I would love to find similar ones, specifically about texture mapping and placement, as I am having trouble doing something as simple as getting my label to look right on a curved bottle.

So can anyone please suggest a good playlist here (or elsewhere) that might go over the following

1 - basic modeling
2 - the C4D workspace - best practices for setting up a scene
3 - basic texture mapping/placement
4 - lighting basics.

I am of course googling and finding some random helpful posts, but since I paid for the Cineversity I would love to use its resources.
Really wish there was an “Intro” section that had like 100 tutorials for beginners.

thanks so much.
- Mike

Posted: 10 April 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Mike,

The first 100 tutorial to watch is certainly a good idea. In fact MAXON has thought about something like, content wise, which is the little book they provide, “Quickstart Documentation”.
The “Quickstart Documenation” can be found here:  http://www.maxon.net/support/documentation.html

Please note that pretty much any tool or even parameter has that “right mouse click” help support system, if you like to explore C4D directly.

My suggestions would be to go one time along the tutorials that you will find in the “Help Content” of the application itself.