A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Beginner UV Mapping Problems
Posted: 27 September 2012 02:13 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2012-04-05

I’m a rookie in C4D. I’m getting much more comfortable modeling, but the textures and materials are giving me some problems that I can’t figure out. I’m doing some product visualization of a web cam. I’m trying to apply an alpha logo to just the front of the camera. The tutorial I was working with did this via UV mapping. I simply selected the front facing polys and applied my logos to those. It looked correct on the front of the camera, but when I looked at the back of it, the logo was squished and repeated to where it almost looked liked a distressed texture.

So, my second attempt, I selected all of the polys for the UV map and went through the same process (Front Projection, exporting it to photoshop, placing the logo and assigning it to a new material.) Again, it looked great on the front of the object, but again, on the back of the object the logo was mirrored over. (Just once though, no crazy tiling).  Does anyone have any suggestions on what I’m doing wrong?

Posted: 27 September 2012 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi TheDepartment,

IF you don’t like that it goes to the back side of your model, then shut it off. The common way would be to click on the Texture Tag in the Object manager, then go to the Attribute Manager and there set it as follow: Side>Front.