A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Can’t get background animation to work when scrubbing or in live render view
Posted: 30 October 2022 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  36
Joined  2021-10-07

Hi,

I’m following Pwnisher’s tutorial on compositing a 3d object into a live action shot. I’ve successfully gotten to around 14:00 or so in the video, with everything working. The point where I’m at is about here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXC8sYQs5io&t=827s

I’m at the point where I’ve created a material, applied the first file of a PNG sequence as the shader for that material, and then applied that material to a background object. My reflective chrome ball object successfully reflects the HDRI environment and also the background of the frame shows behind the chrome ball (my background is a beach).

However, I’ve tried to now apply the animation of the PNG sequence as Pwnisher does by clicking “Animation” and clicking “Calculate”. I get the correct number of frames (0100 to 0185 at 30 frames per second). However, unlike in his tutorial, my background will not scrub through after I do that. It remains static in both my viewport and also in the Octane live render window as I scrub through. “Animate preview” is checked and it still doesn’t work.

I have not been able to figure out why my background will not scrub through the PNG sequence that I created of my background footage.

Posted: 30 October 2022 09:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Joined  2021-10-07

OK so I thought it might have been a problem with a file setting where I had clicked “Yes” when “This image is not in the document search path…”. This time I fixed it so it’s “no”, but I still can’t get it to scrub through.

Posted: 30 October 2022 10:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi yngvai,