A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Baking Transparency
Posted: 19 October 2020 02:30 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2020-10-19

Hi All

Im fairly new to texturing.I have a two part question.(using r23)

Currently trying to bake out Glass material
I am using a bake material tag with transparency and reflectance selected but i keep getting a black image see below.
I have a sky with a HDRI in the scene also (to get the reflection) I’m trying to create a ‘fake’ glass material for A.R
Is there a way to do this? I know it takes like 5 seconds on blender.

Also is there a way to have an alpha background on the bake material tag I can only see colour options I just want one with an Alpha.

Any help would be appreciated.

Signature 

Juwad

Posted: 19 October 2020 04:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi finance,

Often the results of the surface will change when the situation is altered. The object itself moves, the camera point of view changes or the context’s content is different over time.

I really need a scene file to see what you like to have in the end. Please just zip the file and attach it here (max 4MB), or I can share a Dropbox upload link. (Dropbox, Google, Amazon, Apple, Adobe, or Wetransfer are the only ones I will touch for security reasons.)

If it is just the overall transparency of an object, why bother to bake it? It would be just a single value map based on the amount of transparency. A variation or even the total refraction amount can’t be baked in Cinema 4D with the Texture bake tag.

Glass has refraction, and the result inside of a scene can’t be baked in, as it requires the current constellation in AR.

Similar to that is refection; if there is no variance in the reflection’s strength, then this will also result in a single value gray-map.