A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Drawing or Illustrating in C4D
Posted: 31 August 2020 06:46 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2020-08-28

Hi All,

I’m a total NOOB, never having worked in or with any 3D software program, ever.  However, I am familiar with Flash (now CC Animate), Illustrator, and Photoshop; I can draw anything I want right on the stage/screen.

I realize that 3D software has its own way of doing things so before I go nuts trying to figure it out on my own I thought it best to ask, at 61 time is more precious and to some degree even more limited.

So my question is this:
Can I do the same in Cinema 4D?  Can I use my mouse or stylus pen and simply draw as I would, using a brush or pencil, in Flash, Illustrator, Photoshop, etc?

Peace,
Jose Antonio

Posted: 31 August 2020 07:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Jose Antonio,

As input devices, a mouse and a tablet can be used.

This is a general question; let me try to list all places where one can draw.

Like in Illustrator:
https://help.maxon.net/us/index.html#TOOLSPLINEPEN-MDATA_MAINGROUP
https://help.maxon.net/us/index.html#TOOLSPLINESKETCH-MDATA_MAINGROUP
As well as with any Spline tool, with options in the Main Menu> Spline.

Not that these Paths (Splines) have no color assigned to them, that can be done in
Sketch and Toons, or just with a Hair material.

If you are fast in Illustrator, perhaps check out the CV Tools>CV-Art-Smart.
However, if you want to learn Cinema 4D, try to focus on what you can do inside the app while learning. Otherwise, you might end up using Cinema 4D only as an authoring app. It is better to know both the authoring and the creation options.

There is a Doodle option given, but it is more to sketch or make notes.
Main Menu> Tools> Doodles.