A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Modeling/moving a worm
Posted: 18 January 2015 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2015-01-06

I put a head on top of a cylinder to make a goofy looking worm and want him to move along a spline. Can this be done with a spline wrap, or am I better to rig it?

Posted: 18 January 2015 04:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Andy.Man,

Certainly an Artist question first, how should your “worm” move? What is its story? (Story can invent a very unique movement, is its movement based on history, or a dream to be something else. Perhaps only tiny amounts of all of that.)
I’m not a expert in worms of course, but some retract and push parts to move, some bend.
I googled it and here is an answer to the technical part: The bristles, paired in groups on each segment, can be moved in and out to grip the ground or the walls of a burrow. Worms travel through underground tunnels or move on the soil surface by using their bristles as anchors, and pushing themselves forward or backward using strong stretching and contracting muscles.
In “Toons” I saw it more often that they move based on elevating a part and get so moving. Not so often, I guess, that they move like a snake.

Reference is key, from natural recourses or from a story/idea about it. Either way, if none of this is know, it is difficult to answer.