A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Water cutaway
Posted: 28 November 2014 04:24 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2009-06-03

Hi.  I need to create this ‘cutaway’ view of a water line (the area where the water meets the air)
The camera will be following dolphins swimming and jumping.
It’s a fairly short 5 sec spot. This is my first try at animating water so I’m out of my comfort zone already!

Not sure if this is best done in C4D or not, but I’m shooting for the most realistic look I can get within reason.
In addition to creating the water itself I also have to have the water splashes as my dolphins jump in and out as the camera follows them swimming along.
(I’ve attached a 2D After Effects version I did previously using stills that I just manipulated)
Perhaps if I could get help pointing me in the right direction, I would be most appreciative!

Thanks,
Brian

Posted: 28 November 2014 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Brian,

Water seemed to me always as one of the more difficult things to visualize, besides fire and smoke—If the most realistic look is targeted.

I guess the standard answer would be, get comfortable with RealFlow. Certainly one of the tools many people rely on.