A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Imported .3ds model deforming
Posted: 17 September 2014 01:25 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2014-08-15

I am a bit new to C4D but have always been able to create models in Sketchup and import them as .3ds files into C4D. This method has worked well in the past but just today when rendering my model I have noticed some strange deforming going on in the model.

The model looks to be fine while in the workflow viewport but on render it deforms. I have re-checked the Skecthup file and even imported the .3ds version into Rhino and have found no imperfections or deformations.

Anybody have some thoughts?

I have included the images of one of the deformed areas below from a render as well as images of the same area showing no problems.

Cheers,

P.S. I have just recently switched to R-16… It has been giving me problems with some Lib file. Tech Support has advised me to delete a file in C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft named “crypto” and re-install. I have had to do this twice, not sure if this is causing some of my problems.

Posted: 17 September 2014 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Joined  2014-08-15

And I think I figured it out… R-16 seems to have a problem opening files created in R-15 which really makes it difficult to make the transition to R-16. hopefully they will figure this problem out soon.

Posted: 17 September 2014 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi delancie,

This is the second time this week I got here an hint that something is different with the 3ds import.

I highly suggest that you get into contact with the support. It certainly gets its attention but the more data and example files will accelerate to locate the origin of that problem.

http://www.maxon.net/support/support-questions.html