A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Python Scripting question
Posted: 08 April 2014 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2011-12-22

I’ve been driving myself mad trying to figure out how to script this… please help.
I’m trying to use Python to enable a tool and set specific parameters to chosen values.
For example:  Call the knife tool with Loop Mode seleclted and Create N-Gons turned off.
or Call the brush tool and have smear mode turned on already.

I’ve figured out how to call to tools but I can figure out how to set any of the tools parameters.
I’m very new to Python and coding in general.  Any guidance / possible solutions are highly apprciated.

Thanks.

Posted: 08 April 2014 07:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Edit: go to post number four (#4) for a current available method, or use the code below /edit.

import c4d
from c4d import documents, plugins
#Welcome to the world of Python

# retrieved from Script Log. It needs a polygon object active
# and,e.g., be in Polygon mode. No guarantee for anything ;o)

def main():

def tool():
      return doc.GetActiveToolData()

#c4d.CallCommand(5159) # Cube
  #c4d.CallCommand(12236) # Make Editable
  c4d.CallCommand(1016030) # Knife
  tool()[c4d.MDATA_KNIFE_MODE]=2
  tool()[c4d.MDATA_KNIFE_NGONS]=False
  tool()[c4d.MDATA_KNIFE_EDGES]=True
  tool()[c4d.MDATA_KNIFE_LOOP_OFFSET]=0.15
  tool()[c4d.MDATA_KNIFE_STICKYLOCK]=True
  c4d.CallCommand(12112) # Select All

if __name__==‘__main__’:
  main()

Hi Tangle Wire,

As I’m not an Python instructor, I like to point out that there is an—nearly automated scripting—option to create a script for that, but it is not Python:

To call up Tool Presets with an option to have an icon in your interface:
http://www.cineversity.com/vidplaytut/tool_presets