A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Creating mesh models from CAD files, then animating the mesh
Posted: 30 October 2015 12:25 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2015-09-08

Hello all,

I am brand new to the C4D world but have used other 3D programs. I’ve been able to create some pretty good stuff so far with C4D. IK, time remapping and metaball physics. But now I’ve been requested to create something I know nothing about. Looking for some guidance.

I have a huge high poly CAD file of a machine. An automotive tire changing machine to be precise. Every nut and bolt is in the model.

My task is to create an animation that shows this complex machine doing human like movements. Transforming from its static state, and basically make it look like it’s “spiking a football”. Thanks upper management!!!

Is there a workflow that will allow me to “skin” only the outer surfaces, kill all of the internal geometry, and create a mesh that I can apply a character rig to? All I want is the “shell” of this machine. I’ll figure out the bizarre rigging, or ask for help if I can get past this major first hurdle.

I can provide images of the machine at this point for what I’m working with but can’t upload the model as it is highly proprietary and sensitive.

Thank you in advance for reading and for any advice you can give.

Dan

Posted: 30 October 2015 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Dan,

As usual, a little scene file would help, one object that you would like to reduce to the surface. Images will not tell too much. You can send me a PM here with a download link of a reduced (to a single object, one object from the machine, not merged all into one object) scene file. I keep it hidden (visual and data) and delete it later.