A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Classic scheme?
Posted: 16 September 2015 03:55 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2015-09-01

I’ve finally upgraded from R10.5 to R17 (I’m an illustrator and was perfectly happy with the way 10.5 does everything that I need, but I wanted to stay in the loop and Maxon had an offer on R16 with 1yr MSA so thought I’d be a good time to jump back in). 
TBH I’m a bit lost navigating around the layout.  Maybe it’s the Aspergers stressing me out, but I’m out of my comfort zone.  I’ve always used C4D with the ‘classic’ scheme and the first thing I would always do with an upgrade was switch to classic in order to make things seem as familiar as possible.  Apparently that isn’t an option in R17 and I’m guessing hasn’t been for a while.  I’ll get my head around things eventually but there’s a lot of new stuff (to me) and it would speed things up if I was in more familiar surroundings.  Is there any way I can import or otherwise fiddle with it to get the old classic look in R17?

cheers in advance

Posted: 16 September 2015 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi AlexTomlinson47,

This is certainly a big jump and I know how that feels, as I go sometimes (based on questions) back to older version, some I haven’t touched in a decade for example. The “muscle memory” and the speed of it is not available.

Sorry, there is no option to turn it to a R10.5 GUI by default. Especially the icons will not be available in a “classic” version

I’m also not aware if there is an 3rd party option.

In the preferences you can turn and change Interface>Scheme>Dark/Light.
Then the Main Menu>Window>Menus you will find an option to change the commands in the menus for example.