A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Object/Model
Posted: 21 January 2015 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  53
Joined  2015-01-06

I’ve been working on C4d for years and since I’m self taught there are several simple questions such as: What’s the difference between Model and Object mode?

Thank you.

Posted: 21 January 2015 07:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Andy.Man,

The main difference is easy to see while doing the following:

Take a cube, make it editable.

Click on the Structure Tab to see the coordinates of the points

With the active cube, use the Coordinates tab in the Attribute manager use the scale tool—one time in Object and one time in Model mode.

Now observe the Structure (points) and the Scale (Attribute>Coordinates) while scaling the object.

The Model mode changes the absolute position of the points, the Object mode only the scale.

If you animate the object, once the points are all scaled down to 0;0;0 a new scale will do nothing, as many time zero equals zero. Which might happen during animation! Hence the information from the manual:

The rule of thumb is this: The Model tool is for modeling, the Object tool is for animation.

The same Help Content explains as well why this is relevant for objects in hierarchy (Parent/Child) situations, as the axis might not be in 90ยบ to each other anymore of the wrong mode is used. Please have a look here:

Reference > CINEMA 4D > CINEMA 4D Prime > Tools Menu > Mode