A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

About searching for help
Posted: 27 November 2013 05:07 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2013-11-02

Hello.  I’m still new to Cinema 4d.  I’d like to learn everything there is to know about a specific effector.  But I don’t see anything in the tutorials, or wiki.  And I’ve searched through the forums as well, but see nothing.  It’s the shader effector that I’d like to know about, but more importantly I’d like to know where to go when I want to research more about a particular node/effector.  Thanks!

Posted: 27 November 2013 05:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2013-11-02

AHa!  Just found it!  just right click on the button in the munu and select help.  Don’t know if there’s more out there for specific nodes, but if there is, please let me know.  I need all the help I can get, lol. smile

Posted: 27 November 2013 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Gabeartist,

Thanks for the fast update :o)

The Shader Effector has one major misunderstood. It doesn’t bring “shaders” or “textures” onto the clones. With that out of the way, the idea of the Effector is simply to use a texture or a shader space to pick up values from it.

Effectors have mostly the Paramaeter field in common. Position, scale and Rotation can be set up here in general. But how much each clone will receive from this setting is then a question of each Effector and how it works.

The Plain Effector uses the values as given, just 100%, if not limited by the fall-off for example.

To change for each clone the Parameter can be done in most Effectors differently. Lets have a look how the Shader Effector does this.