A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Motion System Jitters
Posted: 28 October 2022 08:24 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  80
Joined  2019-07-22

I am a newbie using the motion system for the first time. Relevant files at this link:

https://shared-assets.adobe.com/link/28c93576-6267-489d-53a5-67343d535355

Motion System Figure_1
This is the original source file in which I assembled several Mixamo motion captures into a walk/stop/point sequence. It’s clunky but works for my purpose.

I tried bringing this file into my composition and placing it like I would any other figure but discovered that the motion clips appear to retain their pivot origins. The first clip plays fine in the new position, but the others slide back to their original origin points. A big surprise. To deal with this I went back to this source file, merged the motion clips into a single source and then baked it (that version is not included). This I could move around, and it behaved as expected. Progress!

Motion System Figure_2
This is the same figure as above (minus the pointing gesture) in which I merged the motion clips into a single motion source, and then baked it - the exact same process (so far as I can tell) that I used on Figure_1. But this file has the jitters. I repeated the process several times and it always jitters. I can move it around, which is good. But it’s unusable.

Since the files started out identical in all respects (only the pointing gesture was cut out), I can’t locate the thing I did different. Can you spot the secret checkbox I’m missing. You usually can smile

Posted: 29 October 2022 01:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi fordmar,

Thanks for the files; certainly super helpful in understanding your problem.