A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

No progress bar in Render Queue with Redshift? And freezes.
Posted: 17 October 2022 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  138
Joined  2012-04-04

I’m a long-time user of C4D and have a valid Commercial license subscription. I activated a trial of Maxon One to try out Redshift (GPU) on my new (ish) Mac Studio. I’ve been using Arnold for five years or so, but I’m looking for an alternative renderer as Arnold STILL doesn’t have an Apple Silicon-native version.

I’ve been liking the speed of the Redshift GPU, but I ran into some issues last night when I queued up three Redshift scenes in the Render Queue last night. R26. OS is Monterey, 12.6

The scenes aren’t very heavy, a city model with a few lights, just two materials. As these are drafts I’m only rendering at 960x540, .2 threshold. I’m rendering EXRs to embed Puzzle Mattes.

The first thing I noticed when I started the render was the lack of a progress bar and estimated time of completion. Is that just the way things are with Redshift in the Render Queue?

Then, at around 120 frames into a 1180-frame-render it got stuck (or something). It acted like it was rendering, but it wasn’t producing any frames. When I clicked Jobs: Stop Rendering I got a beachball requiring a force-quit.

I played around with the scene, adding a regular image to be saved (I didn’t have one initially) and reducing the bucket size to 256. I thought that might make the progress bar show up. Nope. And this render quit at around frame 70.

I shut off an external hard drive enclosure I use as it sounded like C4D was accessing them (or something) when launching, even though I’d dismounted all of those drives.

This time it got through around 550 frames before freezing.