Not the same render in viewer and render queue
Posted: 18 June 2021 05:45 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2020-05-10

Hello I have a strange problem with my render.

I use a physical sky with fog to light my scene. When I use the viewer to make the render it looks as I want.
But if I put the scene in the render queue, my renders are much more darker.

I can’t understand why. It’s the same settings.

Image Attachments
COLONNE_render_queue.pngCOLONNE_render_viewer.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 June 2021 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi p.aubry,

I would like to have a look at your scene file. I can send an upload link.
(Dropbox, Amazon, Apple, Adobe, Google, Wetransfer is fine, as long as the URL is not shortened)

What you could do, first, check if the Filter in the picture viewer is on. If so, that might be the problem.

Perhaps do a little test:
• Render in the Editor view and then go to:
• Editor View Menu> View> Send to Picture Viewer.
• This gives you the size of the current editor view rendering.
• Take these numbers into the Render Settings and render an image to the Picture Viewer.
• Now make an A/B comparison between the two.

• Eventually, go the Queue route and add one more image to the list in the Picture viewer.
Do another A/B

If that all fails, I can have a look at your file, or you go directly to the tech support:
https://www.maxon.net/en/support-center

The two renderings will typically come close, but not as far apart as in your images.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2021 12:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2020-05-10

Hey, thanks for your answer.

The filter is disabled.

This is my file.
https://we.tl/t-tsTO6mnqDv

This is some cloners to make a loop, with a very big object far away in the scene.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2021 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi p.aubry,

Please check your Cineversity Private Messages. Thanks.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2021 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi p.aubry,

The only way I can achieve this “problem” is when I “A/B” an 8bit/channel render from the editor view with a 32 bit/channel render in the Picture Viewer, as only one profile is applied.

As a side note:
For quality renderings, I would highly suggest avoiding 8bit/channel at all costs.
Even if the final delivery is 8bit/channel, the pipeline needs to always be better than the delivery.

If you take the dark image into photoshop, add an Exposure layer on top of it, and apply a gamma of 2.2, does it look correct to you? Since you have had no textures included, I would suspect the reason to be there, if you can exclude that all settings were the same for both images.

All the best


Edited/gamma 2.2 note /edit

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile