Editing hight to create animation is not linked to position..
Posted: 11 September 2020 04:48 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

Hi. In S22, I could auto add or manually add a key frame and then adjust the hight.. But for some reason, this is not working in R23.. I think it might need to be linked to the position. Not sure… What do I need to do to fix this..??

Thank you

Tesselaar..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Tesselaar,

Would you mind to share at least a screen-shot here (800x600 max, jpg)?
OR the scene file, so I see what you see.
Dropbox, Google, Amazon, Apple, Adobe, Wetransfer only please, if…, thanks!

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

Hi.. I added it to my Dropbox .. ScreenShot.jpg
I made a new spring, but same thing happens..

Thank you..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

I tried in S22 and its fine.. Animates well.. I cannot see what is different in R23..

I am sure you will work it out..

Tesselaar..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Tesselaar,

Where is that link to that old Dropbox entry? This is not working, and I have had addressed this before.

I have also asked to not add endlessly to one old link. No one will know which file belongs to the question in a growing list of files while only reading this post.

Last time I crawled through all threads to find that link and asked to stop that.

I think no artist who is looking for an answer deserves this. (Searching in your currently over 50 posts for a link, then searching in a list of files and figure out which one could eventually be the right one.

https://help.maxon.net/r23/en-us/Default.htm#html/CKVALUE-ID_VKEY_PROPERTIES.html#ID_CKEY_INTER

Enjoy your weekend.

Edit@22:45

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 09:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

P.S.: I can’t find a problem in R23, regarding this.
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/ekwI4ca0nRv0mq8E1r5rK4QEAcQaEy5A29j4yjt2m38

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 10:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

Yes,.. sorry for that.. I forgot how to create a link. Here is my test. Not so fluent as you can do, but I am sure you will get the idea..

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t4d2afwiyuwbkvz/AnimationKeyFrames.mov.zip?dl=0

i tried many different ways, but I cannot create the animation.. S22 works fine..

Tesselaar..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 10:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

The animation process is really forgiving in S22.. I normally have the Auto Key Framing set where I can see that the options on the right are all highlighted in orange. So if I move any setting, the keyframe will be added.. Easy..

However, when I click on Auto Key Framing in R23, the options are not highlighted at all.. And even if I manually click on to add a keyframe, the keyframe seems to be added but no animation is created.. Something must have changed in R23 where I need to make it active or something.. Very puzzling. Work in one version very well but not in the new version.. Not by default anyway.. But I did not do anteing in S22 to make it work in the first place. It just worked..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 11:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

I opened an old S22 file and the animation works fine, and if I manually add a key frame it works too. But the Auto Adding Keyframe does not work..
I removed that model and started again, but the animation will not work.. It might be a bug..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 September 2020 11:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the clip, Tesselaar, and for providing a link from the DropBox.

If something works in the previous version, and is highlighted yellow in the new version: Check the manual “What new in…”, at least read the list of new things.
https://help.maxon.net/r23/en-us/Default.htm#html/33010.html?TocPath=_____2

The change in R23 is simple, anything that want to receive a key via Autokey must have an Animation Track to begin with. Except PLA (Point Level Animation).

There is more to it, but I like to keep it short, as I would repeat only wha the manual provides.

Short Screen capture:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/8E1qX4YNS2lzQqPZtondwUHvDSietHPrdRIX4B9W4Hr

Have a great weekend!

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2020 01:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

Well. There is nothing highlighted in yellow.. Not sure what the secret is.. They have taken something that worked really well, logically and easily, to something that is a mystery on how it works.. I have key frames, I move the timeline to a key frame, edit, but nothing animates. Surly I am not the only only one that does not see get it…. I feel for those who have been using C4D for a long time only to find their workflow has dramatically changed..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2020 03:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

I finally worked out the new process on animating.. Even copy and pasting the key frame is not so easy now, but it still works..

Thank you for your help… I will soon get used to the new way of animating and adding key frames..

Tesselaar..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2020 09:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Tesselaar,

The idea is that the Auto-key has often set keys where one had adjusted something but no intention to animate it. So, now with no timetrack to begin with, adjustments can be made without deleting the “accidental keyframes”.

I have rarely used auto keys based on this.

Yellow is, at least with any version I get, what is new. In the Preference> Interface, you can switch this on, but it should be by default on. However, by default, the “Fade” checkbox is on. So it was yellow, but after using it, it will go away. This can be changed. See the image below.

People who are in the team of checking out new features before the release are full-time professionals. Besides, any input via the suggestion form is discussed as well. So, new features are discussed, tested, and refined. So, when you say you certainly will get used to it, you are in good hands.

I’m happy that you had success with it. Enjoy your work.

Cheers

Image Attachments
New_in_Version.jpg
 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2020 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Total Posts:  71
Joined  2020-07-17

Hey there..

I do understand that there would be a good reason for the change. For me, it was working so well before the change. Now it seems to be awkward.. But it will not take me long to forget the old way… Its only because I am new and only just learnt all this..

Yes, I noticed the Yellow now.. I partially love the Yellow lighted for the Import/Export obj’s smile Great new feature!! I do not care what others might think, I am convince it has great value.. and I am so glad that Maxon can see this too.. and as you stated, full-time professionals would have seen the value in this feature as well.. As soon as I can add short 3D animations into SLC, it will have real value for me in Virtual Reality… I already show interactive WebGL animations to my early year students. We now have HDMI Interactive TV options. Better than RGB Interactive White Boards..

Off Topic…
Take care during the big fires.. I see on the news… We hope you all stay safe!

Tesselaar..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2020 05:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

OFFTOPIC:

Yes, Tesselaar, change is the only constant. wink

Thanks for the wishes.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile