A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

BodyPaint 3D R17 “Freeze 3D View” Linear Workflow
Posted: 24 March 2016 10:17 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2010-03-01

Hi,

I am new to BodyPaint.  When I go into Projection Painting and go into the “Freeze 3D View” it turns dark, and comes out dark in Photoshop as well.  I notice if I turn the “Linear Workflow” off this does not happen.  Is this an issue with my graphics card?  I have an older computer my graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB.  At my work the computer there does the same thing.  There the graphics card is a AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB.  Both computers are Mac.

Thanks,

Ben

Posted: 24 March 2016 11:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Ben,

While in Freeze mode, the main part is certainly that you can work in Photoshop.

What color profile has the texture, while in Photoshop?

While you are in the BodyPaint>Layers, where the PP Layer is that you like to save and use in Photoshop:

Go to Functions and Assign a Linear Profile. This leaves the pixel values as they are, but allows Photoshop to read this correctly. The other option is “Convert” and that changes the pixel values so it can be translated with any profile you chose to a given viewing device. Convert is dangerous, especially if used in Photoshop ...long story, but since the idea would be here to use Assign, we are fine here.

If you like you can send me the file (scene and texture) via the link I have send to your PM (Cineversity Private Message).

I will look into it.

Other than that, you can of course check as well with the support.

Let me know.

All the best

BTW, check the file in Photoshop, if you can read Cineversity clearly something is wrong within Ps on your side.

File Attachments