A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Character Object, switching to bind deforms legs
Posted: 10 February 2016 10:19 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2015-11-30

Hi there everyone,
I’m new to character rigging but have come across a problem at a very early stage of the rigging process using the character object.
I make a character object and move the leg components, not in any particularly extreme way, when I am happy with their positions and click the bind tab, the adjusted leg components get deformed into another pose, like the knees don’t want to be in that position..
I don’t understand why this is happening.
I tried with FK and IK, just transforming the components without rotation, and also just rotating and scaling, not sure what could be causing this problem.

I attached an example file with basic biped rig.
If you look at the character object in step 02, clicking bind should deform the legs and reproduce the glitch. if not, step 3 shows the unwanted leg deformation I get when I click the bind tab.

File Attachments
CharacterObject help.zip  (File Size: 247KB - Downloads: 147)

Posted: 10 February 2016 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi NNenov,

As a general information:

https://help.maxon.net/#TCARIGPART-ID_CA_RIGPART_TAG_GROUP_ADJUSTMENTS

The Leg snaps back to the IK - Plane, so far I can tell.

I have illustrated this Triangle Plane here:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/XVdqB5KBeFlft9WGFrPyzE0yoiNjOf3BR8LRbT86Luv?ref_=cd_ph_share_link_copy

Typically this rig is supposed to be used with a figure (while in “Bped” mode) that is modeled in the “T-Pose”. Which means to me with straight legs.

If you open up the whole hierarchy (Character Object>>Attribute Manager>Display>Manager) you will find on the Joints the IK Tag. “L_Hip_jnt” and “R_Hip_jnt”.