A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Grid texture/edge lines
Posted: 17 May 2014 02:36 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2006-12-18

I’ve tried Sketch to get this effect, but I cannot replicate the shadows or gradients.

I attached a photo of what I’m trying to achieve, but I can’t seem to figure out how to get it right with the shadows and such…

I assume its a pattern, or regular texture, but I’m rather new to custom building my own textures..

Ideas?

Posted: 17 May 2014 02:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Scotty71,

I have a little (!) sketch for you attached. You might tweak the parameters, but I hope it goes into the right direction. It doesn’t seems like an edge-effect.

I have no idea how much you are used to setting up the parameters of the Texture Tag, but click on the Texture Tag and then go to the Attribute Manager and check the Tab “Tag’. (Offset, Length, etc) Just play with it, you will get in a minute a good feel for it.

The material could be a texture with a single gray cross, but I thought it might be simpler to use the Shader ‘Tile” for that. Shader>Surface>Tile (from the Texture Menu)

The gradient and light, looks like GI and that is a longer story (compared to the space here I have for text) Patrick has just released an excellent new series about it, you might check it out. Certainly worth it to know anyway.

I see as well a use of Ambient Occlusion there, but that—and how much is an artist call. Make certain to reder a light pass to exclude the AO where light comes naturally. (AO is as before only based on Geometry only!)

Alternative: You render the scene with GI using just a gray texture. A second path renders the Sketch &Toons; lines; pass. You combine both in Ae.