A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Lip sync?
Posted: 12 May 2012 04:26 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-04-25

Hello,

I’m new to C4D, using R13. Is there a workflow for doing lip sync and if so are there any tuts in the works.

Thanks,
Bob

Posted: 16 May 2012 08:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hey Bob,

Lip-synch is quite a “hot iron”, as the definitions about that subjects are pretty loosely. The bandwidth can go from a simple Sound Effector/XPresso solution to a phonetic mapped mouth shape.  The problem that I see here is the missing native tool to do exactly something between both extremes.

The typical workflow would be, creating the wanted expressions for each sound, which is of course not simple, as the character might have a individual way of “communicating”. This preparation is done in PoseMorph.  There are several ways to animate from there (like the Driver Tag), but to my knowledge not really something that let you analyze the voice AND expression automatically.

One supportive instrument might be MacPie, to get an idea how those stuff work.

I think that I have certainly not an overview if something new show up on the marked.

=============

So, the short answer is, besides a manual set up, there is no native tool for automatization (sound to movement with precise defined expression/sound differentiation).

All the best

Sassi

Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004
Maxon Master Trainer, VES, DCS

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

NEW:

NEW: Cineversity [CV4]

Posted: 16 May 2012 09:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-04-25

HI Sassi,