Exploded View Animation: Final Animation
Posted: 16 June 2022 12:27 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2022-06-12

When I try to autokeyframe, nothing happens. Not keyframe is made.
The object moves, but no keyframe. What should I do?

 Signature 

Jacob P
Animation Intern

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2022 12:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2022-06-12

Here is a picture showing my timeline bar. What should I do?

Image Attachments
control bar.png
 Signature 

Jacob P
Animation Intern

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2022 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  11959
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi jacob.peters,

Please share the project file. Here in the forum as zipped, or I can provide an upload link. (Besides that, I open Google, Amazon, Dropbox, Apple, Adobe, and Wetransfer cloud services, nothing else, for security reasons.)

Images don’t tell me the whole story.
As usual, I want to give a solution, not a list of guesses. Images lead to guessing.

Speaking of guesses, try Timeline> View> Automatic Mode (alt/option + A, while the mouse indicator is inside the timeline editor)

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004
Maxon Master Trainer, VES member

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2022 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2022-06-12

Hi Dr. Sassi,

I cannot share the file, as it belongs to the company I’m working for. It took some trial and error, but I figured it out once again. *facepalm

Sorry for bothering you again.

 Signature 

Jacob P
Animation Intern

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2022 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  11959
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for updating (?) your question, jacob.peters.

Typically an example file helps. It doesn’t have to be the original file; I enjoy getting small files instead of a filled project file with 100s of unrelated items.

Since I write in a forum, it is the target to have an answer on end. Not to have only questions and then no answer. So, what was it? Since it moved, the keyframes were somewhere. If Automatic Mode didn’t help, what else could it be? Layerbrowser… Guessing is so inefficient.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004
Maxon Master Trainer, VES member

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2022 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2022-06-12

For sure! I got confused because the tutorial I was following didn’t show clicking the “set keyframe” at the beginning. That way it would record the actions throughout.
When it came to accessing the button to set the keyframe, I didn’t know you could click the square (this was using a XPresso modifier).

Does that make sense?

 Signature 

Jacob P
Animation Intern

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2022 01:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  11959
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the extra time, jacob.peters.

Missing information is never a nice thing to have. Sorry about that.

But with no initial keyframe, it shouldn’t add new ones at all, at least in current versions of Cinema 4D.

Anyway, thanks for the information.

My best wishes for your project.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004
Maxon Master Trainer, VES member

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile