Spline wrap and align to spline
Posted: 12 January 2022 09:22 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2017-01-08

Hi,

I have a helix that offsets on a path with spline wrap.
Then I need to align a plane on the tip of the other object exactly and follow its animation. Is that possible? I tried with align to spline but manually cant match these.

Any way xpresso rig/constraints etc is welcome!

Scene file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ynz9le0brj73u5x/splinewrap_aligntospline.c4d?dl=0

Thanks a lot

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2022 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10903
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi thanulee,

The setup in each case needs a Rail. This Rail needs to be placed accordingly.

The Spline in the file is flat but titled in space. So I selected a few points and changed the Workplane orientation based on the selected points of the Spline. In World mode, I moved a copy of the Spline away.
This new Spline is then used as a rail.
You can reset the Workplane to “Align Workplane to Y” to get the orientation back in which your file was.

Here is your file:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/gApyA902dOVII3fNjO4hnBFt0LTKbRIHaEggT4IaZ9A

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2022 12:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2017-01-08

Thanks for the file.
So I am looking for to attach something on the tip of this helix after it spline wraps though, maybe I didnt describe it proper.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 January 2022 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10903
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for clearing, thanulee.

Typically I place the spline in a MoSpline to produce a new Spline (placing an extra Spline into it, and set the new vertices to a high number that allows for a better match. (e.g., 1000; Even)
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/HioVIogBUfwpUe9jiMiHNzcDKjz3jM8waEP9kKymi2D

Yes, I misunderstood, as the Helix in the file was not aligned nicely, and I saw that as the problem.

Here are two different versions of getting a Helix working for that.
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/NcZ2Byvd5uXqfot8Ul7yb2APY1zAFoLBPso7GpLyVos
Note that I needed in file …02.c4d a Point cache to overcome Priority problems.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile