How To Fix Jitter In Dynamics
Posted: 30 June 2021 09:44 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2021-04-05

Hi Dr. Sassi,

What are the methods of fixing jittering in dynamics? Or maybe like make dynamics accurate. I only know about going to project settings > Dynamics > Expert > Increasing “Steps Per Frame” and “Maximum Solver Iterations Per Step”, but the jittering is still there. I also know about going to the Dynamics Body Tag > Dynamics > Increase “Linear Velocity Threshold” and “Angular Velocity Threshold” to like 10,000 (I saw it on YouTube), and it fixed it, but it felt unnatural (the jittering abruptly stops; I could animate the “Linear Velocity Threshold” and “Angular Velocity Threshold”, but I want a more accurate and natural solution for fixing this). I have also tried changing the Shape to Moving Mesh and Convex Hull, but jittering is still there.

Thank you!

Example File: https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/2Yy0O2FdEw1H5liDjOU6Bus8Jmi202oHpc8W0IxzssE

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2021 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi openmindedcomedy,

Thanks for using Amazon, and thanks for the file.

Here is your file back
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/2r7QNFNEhAtRIRqjju0lnVhpqM6boRSHkXkac7kkWIs

Have an eye on what I did in the Force tab. It sucks the energy out of the pieces.

The object was just not really a body, just a single polygon. I added a polygon to close the shape. (There is also an option in the Voronoi Fracture for this, but “why fix it in post”.

In the file, the Self-collision was checked off.

I increased the Collision size by 0.1

The Size in the Attribute Manager> Project> Dynamic Settings was untouched, I have set it to a super small (perhaps too small) setting, but it works.

I changed the Steps and iterations.

And also, in the Dynamics settings, I left the Visualization on to see when things shut off (blue). It helps to see what happens.

The scene is cached, so you should see the same as I did.

I would suggest using the Model> Add> Subdivide> Organic to get a smooth object before you fracture it. The SDS (SubDivisionSurface) will not be kind to the object.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2021 03:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2021-04-05

I see, this is much better than my simulations, thank you! I also learned that if I am going to be using voronoi fracture for my simulations, I will need to close my mesh’s polygons, and not make them plane

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2021 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re very welcome, openmindedcomedy.

Thanks for the feedback.

Have a great weekend

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile