1 of 2
1
FBX export Texture Issue
Posted: 27 June 2021 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

hi, when I export an imported fbx item as fbx having trouble with the texture.  When open in another software having this kind of transparent look over it. Any idea why it might happen? Thanks

Image Attachments
shoe-test.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

If you read along, jump to post #12

Hi pinareris,

Since I do not have any file here, I have to ask:
The material worked fine in Cinema4D, so when you re-import it to Cinema4D, what do you get?

I have sent you an upload link. (Private Messages)

What target app?

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 05:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

Thanks for the reply! Yes i am sending the c4d file with the information in a minute Thanks!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Perfect, pinareris, thanks.

I have gotten FBX files with that behavior, but it was mostly just one click and fixed.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 07:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

I uploaded the FBX file again, are you having trouble to open it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

So sorry, pinareris, the email tells me it is uploaded.

The interface of Dropbox now tells me four files, but when I click on the folder, I can see only two files, as before.
This never happens before, no idea.
I have restarted the browser, checked the amount of free space. Weird.
May I send you a new link, zip all files, and upload only one. Yes, I know, this is not what I like to provide here. Really sorry.

Thanks for your patience.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

yes that’s fine i can send from new linke. Thanks!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

I uploaded the zip file, if you need me to send the UV maps let me know. Thanks again for the help

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re great, pinareris, thank you.

However, I got two files again, a c4d and png. No FBX, no fbm folder (textures). All of that after unzipping, so nothing that Dropbox did. I guess the previous upload had overwritten the initial files? Instead of the red shoes, I got now pink shoes.


I checked a little bit both of them
You have an alpha channel in one. Sometimes, I had the impression that some apps like to have it inverted when receiving as FBX.

I checked the mesh of the shoes, it has some problems, but nothing that would cause transparency stuff.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

ups! sorry i am also working on another shoes i got wronlgy i attached that one. I didint know that i should have attached the fbx as well. I only included red black shoes with a png to show how it looks when i export it. Ok i am going to send again with the textures, i am sorry again!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Please don’t worry about this, pinareris; as long as I can see the files and explore what happens, I’m fine.

I just want to give you an answer (hopefully) that supports your work.

If you don’t mind me asking again, what is the target application that causes that problem?

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 08:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

It is uploading right now the files, my target app is CLO3d, it is same as Marvelous designer

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 09:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the files, pinareris, even this is the third pair of shoes, not the one with the problem. But I see a pattern here. Thanks for naming the target app.

However, here are some tips:

Don’t put your textures into the Environment channel. This is for equirectangular images (360º*180º panoramas)

Do not set the texture to offset 100%, 0% is just fine here.

Check that your UV data is inside the 0,0 to 1,1 UV area, just in case. (Offset puts it out. Not all apps can handle that.)

There are polygons where I have no idea why they are in the file and why they need an Alpha map to be hidden. I would delete them (Sole to heel triangle.) If possible, avoid alpha channels. Your models have the option to precisely polygon select areas, use a material that allows for an alpha just for that area if there is no way around them.

If you encounter problems, convert the PNG to a JPG just to see if the problem persists.  I find 8bit/channel images should have no place inside a production pipeline for many reasons anyway.

Avoid transparencies in PNG, which is the official information of ClO3D.

After you created an FBX, use a fresh new C4D scene and merge the FBX into it. Just for the peace of mind. Consistently deliver the fbm folder with the FBX.

Enjoy your creation; I hope the tech will not be in the way of your design anymore.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 09:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

Thanks for all the information, i will check all those. I am not sure if I add texture in the environment channel. I generally use octane render but this time i only needed to export as it is without rendering so used the c4d textures, and add maps into color and normal map. That triangle needed to be transparent, that’s why i added alpha channel. I will check all the information that you shared. Thank you!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 10:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re very welcome, pinareris,

The environment was checked, and a texture was added. It might even mess with reflections!

I was unsure what the triangle is, an acrylic part, or just support for 3D printing? wink
Since you have a perfect selection for that triangle, it can be a material with an alpha channel and a tiny black texture. Just a few pixels, set to zero.

My best wishes with your collection

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2021 10:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]  
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2020-02-07

Changed the png to jpg and looks like that solved the issue. Also i removed the environmental channel, i dont know how that happened : ) I actually didint add over there anything, but well anyways, looks like problem solved. Thanks again!!

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1