Save materials
Posted: 13 June 2021 11:42 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2021-06-05

Hello. I made a bunch of materials using textures, in the redshift node panel. I then named these textures and saved them… or so I thought. I went to Create > Save Material Preset…, and named them and hit OK. But now when I open a new file, only two out of 10 of show up/are available. What is the best way to permanently/safely save materials that you create? Please. Thank you!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2021 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10407
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi kelly,

I can’t reproduce the problem. Before you save them, can you run the
Main Menu> Windows> Project Asset Manager…

If you call up your problem materials, what does the path tells you?

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2021 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2021-06-05
Dr. Sassi - 13 June 2021 01:19 PM

Hi kelly,

I can’t reproduce the problem. Before you save them, can you run the
Main Menu> Windows> Project Asset Manager…

If you call up your problem materials, what does the path tells you?

Cheers

Thanks Dr. S! — But I’m not sure exactly what you mean.
I’m on an iMac. Here’s a screenshot of my Project Asset Inspector, with a material selected.
But this is from the file that seems to have them all securely. When I open a NEW project, they aren’t available through: create>load material presets>user.lib4d>Materials

Image Attachments
CINEVERSITY FILE.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2021 08:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2021-06-05

This is what I get when I try to bring them into a new project…

Image Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-06-28 at 11.40.06 AM.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2021 09:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10407
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi kelly,

When they have no green mark and show a red x, then the path to the content is broken. This is a good starting point to explore when it happens.

I would encourage you to check with the support. I believe that is the fastest way to get you up and running with this.
https://www.maxon.net/en/support-center

It feels more like a tech than a “how to use” in this case.

I’m on Mac as well, and with Big Sur, I had to allow access to drives and files that I really don’t know anymore where to start explaining it.
The security on BigSur has increased so that, even safer, it becomes kind of a problem. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate it, but it is as new for me as anyone else. Besides that, it could be a simple Permission thingy. All of that is for the tech support, they are better than I am in that, and I really don’t want to waste your time.

If you like and have the time, I would love to hear the solution of course!

Fingers crossed, this is soon fixed for you.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2021 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2021-06-05

Ah thanks Dr, S! I see.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2021 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10407
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re welcome, kelly, I hope that it will work for you soon.

Fingers crossed, the tech support can pinpoint the problem.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile