Affect cloner sequentially
Posted: 10 June 2021 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2017-01-08

Hi,
I use some external effectors to do that in general but i was wondering if there is a method in c4d.
I wanna affect in sequence (from index 0 to end) my following setup so the cloners turn from white to red.

Is that possible?

Scene file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/gdz2ywxqo2sv1o8/cloner_per_index.c4d?dl=0

Many thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2021 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10202
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi thanulee,

Thanks for the file and for using Dropbox.

I’m not sure if I follow with the “external effector” comment. Inside the Cloner, there is no option. (If that was the question)

Here are two examples:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/o0x1qgcdE26JO73XHrnVWUufMIeKdjuOWq4aXtF3hXz

In the first one [01], I use the gray values of the Step Effector to drive a MoGraph Color Shader, while the Colors are applied then via Colorizer.

The second file [11] uses a Plain Effector to enable color, but the clone color itself comes from the Falloff> Fields> Formula. Here the F parameter is used to animated the colors. The formula is id<f, then this means, while the app is processing through the clones, it checks if an id is smaller than the f value. If that is true (=1), then the color is used. If it is false (=0), then the Field will not influence anything.

(I exclude the two-child (white/red) sort/modify-clones setup, as it will create a more extensive setup.)

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2021 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2017-01-08

“External” effector i meant, I get some custom effectors from various sources on the internet sometimes.
I had a python one with many options that worked great in R20 but in R23 doesnt, due to new python update.

So thanks a lot. Formula approach is exactly what i am after.
May I ask if its possible to add other fields on top?

Take a look at this image please, you will understand what i wanna do I think: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1ix4x5ha224h4uo/formula_fields.png?dl=0

Many thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2021 05:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10202
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the extra information, thanulee.

Is this closer to what you want?
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/3wTKwwftP3lEIePqIv3h3pVBB0Wf4foYmDZlYuwvP3Y

Python-Effector: Not that it always works, but there are some “Python2 to Python3” converters available on the web.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2021 03:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2017-01-08

Thank you very much this is great. Good tip about the python converter i ll give it a shot!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2021 06:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10202
Joined  2011-03-03

Perfect, thanks for taking the time to reply, thanulee.

My best wishes for your project.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile