Offset alembic keyframes via cloner
Posted: 01 May 2021 01:39 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2017-01-08

Hi,

Is that possible? I have alembic animations that keep my scenes effiecient. But when it comes to triggering keyframes and such, c4d struggles a lot even with no complex objects.

So i was wondering if I can offset/trigger alembic animations in a way (not sure if possible) since it seems lighter also for viewport performance.

Many thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2021 08:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10903
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Thanulee,

Animations with Alembic are easy to offset. Just click on the Alembic object in the Object Manager, and in the Attribute Manager, you will find some options.
https://help.maxon.net/c4d/s24/en-us/Default.htm#html/OALEMBICGENERATOR-ID_OBJECTPROPERTIES.html#ALEMBIC_ANIMATION_OFFSET
I have set up an example; please open file [02].
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/P4CDi1ZLJzvxnrmGy61xFYzwXcxxA9lmezNGI0cCVR0

If you experience any problems with Cinema 4D that are clearly technical or performance-based, please contact the support. I hope it can be cleared.
https://www.maxon.net/en/support-center/

All the best

Image Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-05-01 at 8.51.25 AM.jpg
 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2021 09:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2017-01-08

Thanks for the reply dr. Sassi!

Apologies my bad english and fast typing.
Forgot totally to mention, I am looking for alembic keyframe offsetting within a cloner. Triggering em, or offset the animation with effectors.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2021 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10903
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the feedback, thanulee.

Please never apologize for anything concerning communication. My main wish is to keep it positive, as we all love to create. Creativity flourishes the best in a welcoming situation.

I’m certainly aware that Cloner will not go endlessly deep with keyframes given to them. So, perhaps with a bit of a workaround, you get what you want.
I have set up a Cloner with the number of clones that the Alembic file had as frames stored. The Cloner was made editable, and in the Frame field of all Alembic files, while all are selected, I place the three-letter num in the Frame field. This was all.
Please have a look at the file below:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/6MWxuRwLdeHlqN91FD7Dg8JDKcx8ej7puiQtFbSe1Pg
File [03]

The only downside is no motion blur.

Since you need this to work much more straightforward, please use the option to submit a suggestion:
Support: Report an Idea to our Product Management

Enjoy your weekend

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2021 10:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2017-01-08

Many many thanks!!
I will submit suggestions for sure!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2021 11:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10903
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for doing that, thanulee.

Without input, things might develop in a different direction.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2022 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2021-05-21

Hi Dr Sassi.  Has this technique of handling alembic files gotten any better since R25 release?  It would be helpful to be able to trigger, say a 500 frame alembic file so that it plays when triggered by an effector.  I’m struggling figuring this out still based on longer animations embedded in alembic files.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 January 2022 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  10903
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi brett,

To my knowledge, there is no change.

Have you added a suggestion to Maxon about this? The more “votes” a specific topic gets, the more likely things get attention.

I tested a few options, but sorry, no game. Alembic and Cloner needs to be set for now manually.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile