A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

UV Unwrapped a model… what’s next?
Posted: 01 December 2020 05:06 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2020-06-23

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Cinema 4D and have been learning on-and-off over the past year when time permits.

After taking many, many courses and tutorials to form a basic foundation of skills (Modeling, Lighting, Materials) I’ve created my first homegrown hard surface model.

In applying materials to the model, I noticed distortion in some “scratches” I’ve added to the materials which led me into the UV rabbit hole.

I’m currently taking Cineversity tutorials focused on UV unwrapping (hard surface) which makes total sense to me and I can see how it will help eliminate distortion in my materials when applied to an object.

What I don’t quite understand are the steps after a UV unwrap… I’m left with all these nice islands, but a ton of seams in my materials. Do the islands need to be “stitched” together to eliminate all the seams? Am I thinking about this totally wrong and is there a better approach to reducing distortion in materials without UV unwrapping?

Any advice/knowledge is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

- Brian

Posted: 01 December 2020 05:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Brian,

This is quite a general question, which leaves me with: it depends, as the main answer.

UV is the “translator” between 3D based shapes and flat (2D) image information. There are shapes in 3D that will not have a seamless texture while showing no kind of distortions, just with a push of a button, if at all. To find the sweet-spot is often the key. The other direction would be to start UV mapping by defining the seams and where they can be hidden.