A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

fcurve identification
Posted: 09 October 2020 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2020-01-09

Hi,

I’m relatively new to C4D so perhaps I’m missing something, but why the hell aren’t the fcurve selection in the list(on the left) and the fcurve (in the right) linked? Which curve is which?
I should be able to select a curve in the left and have it highlit + be able to full-frame it + edit etc.

Is this just not possible?

Thanks for any help here.

P

Posted: 09 October 2020 11:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Joined  2020-01-09

The plot thickens.

If I open an fcurve editor via rightclicking a co-ordinate keying button > animation > show fcurve, it behaves better(solos each track, rather than hilighting it - ideally I’d like to see them all while hilighting the active one), but if I open the editor with a keyboard shortcut it doesn’t.

What’s the difference?

[edit] the difference is fcurve>show all tracks is on by default with the shortcut.

Posted: 09 October 2020 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi patrick.nethercoat,

Post #0
The Curves typically have the color R, G, B. Always in that sequence, in X, Y, Z; or for scale or for the rotation, then H, P, B.

The selected curve is orange in the default settings. While a key is selected.

At the moment all curves show up, the
Timeline Menu> F-Curve> Show All Tracks (active or not active)
can help to have only the selected on the left, appear in the editor main window.

Typically, but not always, if all nine Curves of the PSR tracks are visible, the Position is often the largest (vertically), followed by rotation-curves, then scale. Exceptions are given, of course, but since you know your animation’s characteristics, it is easier to see with that in mind.

Post #1