Adding shortcuts to modes.
Posted: 17 September 2020 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2020-01-26

I’m trying to add keyboard shortcuts to the modeling modes (assigning 1-4 to Object/Points/Edges/Polygons) however, the assignments aren’t persistent.
Is there any way to permanently re-assign them?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 10:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi anim8me2,

You need to assign the short cut, not just execute, press the assign button, an Alert typically comes up, as most short cuts are already set. Besides, it is easy to put a short cut for the Structure Manager accidentally (points/polygons).

I really can’t see what you are doing, so I have to suggest these problems.

Restart the app, hover with the mouse indicator over the icon, the short cut should show up in the “bubble help” if enabled.

Check if you have the rights to change the Preferences. This is an OS problem from time to time. Anything else should be checked with the support.

One suggestion, the 1,2,3 keys are for the Editor view, to move, scale and rotate the area you see. I consider them general short cuts. But it is your set up of course.

Cheers

Image Attachments
Shortcuts.jpg
 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 10:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2020-01-26

Yes, I have assigned the shortcuts (not executed). I never use the default keys for viewport navigation so they are the most appropriate for my workflow. Any other change I make to the preferences is persistent.

Dr. Sassi - 17 September 2020 10:11 AM

Hi anim8me2,

You need to assign the short cut, not just execute, press the assign button, an Alert typically comes up, as most short cuts are already set. Besides, it is easy to put a short cut for the Structure Manager accidentally (points/polygons).

I really can’t see what you are doing, so I have to suggest these problems.

Restart the app, hover with the mouse indicator over the icon, the short cut should show up in the “bubble help” if enabled.

Check if you have the rights to change the Preferences. This is an OS problem from time to time. Anything else should be checked with the support.

One suggestion, the 1,2,3 keys are for the Editor view, to move, scale and rotate the area you see. I consider them general short cuts. But it is your set up of course.

Cheers

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 10:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for clearing this, anim8me2,

Since I can’t reproduce it here
No idea what else to tell, other than, this is clearly a technical problem that needs to be addressed by the support:
https://support.maxon.net/index.php

You seemed to do everything correctly.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 11:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2020-01-26
Dr. Sassi - 17 September 2020 10:31 AM

Thanks for clearing this, anim8me2,

Since I can’t reproduce it here
No idea what else to tell, other than, this is clearly a technical problem that needs to be addressed by the support:
https://support.maxon.net/index.php

You seemed to do everything correctly.

All the best

It must be something with the default keys. I used Alt 1-4 and it works fine.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 12:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Interesting find, anim8me2, well done.

Which indicates (alt v. option) that you use a different OS than I did while testing.

If that works for you, great.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2020-01-26
Dr. Sassi - 17 September 2020 12:16 PM

Interesting find, anim8me2, well done.

Which indicates (alt v. option) that you use a different OS than I did while testing.

If that works for you, great.

Cheers

I just tried it on my Mac and I can use the 1-4 keys without a modifier. Odd.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2020 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8932
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for testing, anim8me2.

That is one of the many reasons to contact the support. It is the place where they can hold more kinds of machines ready for testing. I can’t do that.
Based on the broad testing abilities, reports from this team has way more weight than a single input from my side, and rightfully so. To help others means to communicate this to them.

Thanks for considering.

Enjoy.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile