CV-Artsmart not working as expected in S22
Posted: 06 May 2020 03:48 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2020-04-30

I have used ArtSmart for years.

I just updated to Cinema 4d S22.  I installed the CV-ArtSmart plugins and added the buttons to the menus.  I tried this morning to import an Adobe Illustrator file (saved as an ‘8’ version)
The ArtSmart plugin would not even identify .ai files in a directory.

Throwing spaghetti against the wall, I tried Cinema 4D’s Merge function.  Not only did it bring it in to Cinema 4D, it came at the exact size I created it. Unheard of.

Does this new functionality in C4D disable the plugin’s ability to bring in Illustrator files.  I have been having issues with S22.  Little tiny things that are never present in release versions.

Maybe I should start from scratch.
Download the CV-ArtSmart plugin again. 

Can someone else please check to see if ArtSmart works in their version of S22.
Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 May 2020 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  10425
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi bbrachman,

We had a similar question before, and I created a screen capture here:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/G5swwEUSC0QL1YR7JSBuDgcSg0bxzyEfIp4hi6Vo9K0

https://www.cineversity.com/forums/viewthread/3998/#15890

I hope that helps until the developer will answer.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2020 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2020-05-06

I installed s22 yesterday. ArtSmart isn’t working for me. The extrusion snaps to either 10 cm or 0 (visually), no matter what value is entered (if 40 is entered for Extrude Depth, it looks the same as any other value, except 0, 0 seems to work (I can’t slide the Extrude Depth value visually). Has anyone else had this? I’m new to c4d, What is conventional wisdom: Should I reinstall, wait for an update? are there tricks to using ArtSmart? is it updated often?

Should I install an s21 and transfer my license to that? (I’m just guessing, not sure that’s possible)

I was really looking forward to using ArtSmart, I use Illustrator all the time. Need to integrate it with c4d. Thanks!

(I’m on a Catalina iMac Pro 14-core)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2020 02:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2019-10-28

Thanks for the heads-up - it needs to be adapted to the new, simpler extrusion options. I’ll have a look as soon as possible.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2020 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2020-05-06

Thank you, I’m new, does it sound like I could install an s21 to get around this?

Is s21 still available for subscribers? Thank you!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2020 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2019-10-28

Yes, R21 can be used with your subscription entitlement.

You can download it here:
https://www.maxon.net/en-us/support/downloads/
(under Install Cinema 4D R21 / Application)

I’ll hope to make the necessary changes for S22 in the next week.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2020 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
Total Posts:  406
Joined  2006-01-24

CV-ArtSmart is now fully S22 compatible and available via CV-Toolbox.

Let me know if any other issues appear!

Thanks,
Rick

Profile