Problem trying to pass the position data from one hierarchy to another Hierarchy via XPresso
Posted: 05 December 2019 05:03 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2019-11-20

I thought I understand how the Hierarchy node works but I was wrong.
I have Joints parented in one null and Text in another null. Then trying to pass the Joints’ position to the Text splines’ position by matching the index numbers via Hierarchy nodes. So the texts and joints are in the same position based on their index in their Hierarchy. Each Hierarchy strand, Joint and Text, works great. I can change the color or position by remapping their index with the Range Mapper node. But I get an error as soon as I plug the Global Position from Joint Hierarchy to Text Hierarchy. Anybody know why?
Thanks in advance!

Image Attachments
passDataFromHierarchy3.png
File Attachments
passDataFromHierarchy.zip  (File Size: 43KB - Downloads: 8)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2019 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7548
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Samantha,

Thanks for the file.

The problem is a result of the two Hierarchy nodes not being in sync. (Yellow marks). In other words, first, the Hierarchy (1) is processed, then the second one. They do not give out index 0 for both, then 1 for both, an

I have attached two so o version, of how to overcome this.
Files and a screen-capture:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/DVVtChs7HWcI0HxgL5tkRwhiJKFo2TEonQj7van8ovv

The file …_01.c4d uses several Nulls that serve as storage. First, it writes the Global Position to them. When all data is stored, the process after that is to give it all to the text.

The file …_11.c4d does the same but uses a single polygon with enough points to store information. In that way, fewer objects are in the scene. The Plane could be cached with a Point cache if there is any interest in such.

One little note, on the left side in the Xpresso editor, you can sort the names of the nodes to get the processing in order. Typically Xpresso uses what is needed, but if not available, it takes what was left from a frame before, and before, and so on, which can get ugly after a while (scene parts may lag).

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 05:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2019-11-20

Thank you so much!! There’s so much to learn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7548
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re very welcome, Samantha, thanks for the reply.

Yes, there is, and everything might lead to something that can be the base of something great.  I’m happy to look into any questions you might have.

My best wishes.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 10:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2019-11-20

After I checked your c4d setup on both versions. I wonder, is there any way I can pass the data directly from one Hierarchy to another without using Nulls or Polygon as a data storage? Because it seems to break the purpose of using Hierarchy to automatically update the list of objects.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 11:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7548
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Samantha,

The Hierarchy Node is processed per frame completely; then, the next one is processed. There is no way to have them working at the same time. Based on that limitation, the complete result of the first processed Hierarchy Node needs to be stored somewhere, so when the next Hierarchy node is active, it has something to work.

I suggested the “Plane.Data” object, with enough points, so any change in the hierarchy is stored in it. You can change the hierarchy again in the Object Manager, and the new set of data is again written into the “Plane.Data”.
To show the way it works, here is a fresh new screen capture:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/c2oQ46Au97fQ8TJlGofa2zfnEvHXcALr3cxksfPeqZ8

(I have not explored the idea, to pick only one object per calculation and then iterate to the next. If I have any useable results, I update the thread.)

Let me know if there is anything else.

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 11:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2019-11-20

Thank you for explaining this. You are incredible!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7548
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the kind feedback, samantha (capital letter, or all small?).

My best wishes for your explorations!

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 12:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2019-11-20

It’s Samantha.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2019 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7548
Joined  2011-03-03

Thank you, Samantha, I try to comply with the given “avatar” names if no signature is given. I feel at the same time uncomfortable when it is perhaps clearly a first name (v. a company name).

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile