R21 HUD behavior changed? Different in S22..
Posted: 20 November 2019 02:39 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2018-06-06

Hi

Prior to R21, My HUD setup was applied to every scene i opened.
Now it’s seems to be applied only to new scenes, not to older ones.

for example, i set it up to show Total\Selected : Objects,Poly,Edges, Points + Camera I t will appear only a new file.
If i open an older file i’ll need to set it up again. It’s a Hud set-up i had for years.. Now it seems to be per file, not a general preference.
Maybe i’m missing on something?

Thanks

G

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2019 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8529
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi G.,

Select in R21 all HUD options that you like to have. While they are checked and selected (orange highlighted), “Right-Mouse-Click” on one, and select the Global option. (See image)

Global V. Local means that each window can have different settings or all have the same. Since I have no scene file from you, I presume that is the cause.

All the best

Image Attachments
HUD_Local_Global.png
 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2019 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2018-06-06

Hi
Amazing!
Thank you very much.
So simple, yet so helpful smile
Is it a new option of R21?

Cheers

Gil

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 November 2019 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8529
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re very welcome, Gil, thanks for the feedback.

To answer your question, I opened older versions of Cinema4D, and it is safe to say that this is around for a decade. But yes, this is not a piece of information that is shared very often.

My best wishes.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2020 02:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2018-06-06

Hi
So it seems to be different again in S22.
Any ideas on how to set it globaly?


Thanks

G

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2020 09:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8529
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Gil,

Go to the Editor View> Options> Configure All…

With this, you have selected all editor views, and the Local /Global options are available. (Edit: G/L are not in the menu, but it functions that way /edit)

The alternative to this, you shift-click on each Editor Window that should have the HUD entry and then select the view options in The Attribute manager> Mode> View Settings. (No Local/Global here, as the selection of the views, determine the location of the changes.)

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2020 01:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2018-06-06

Hi Dr Sassi

Tried the Configure all option- no Local\Global options..

And this is from the hep menu:

With the introduction of Cinema 4D S22 you can no longer define global Viewport settings. All settings in these menus are local, i.e., they are saved with the scene file.

For new scenes i saved it in the default scene. That wil do it for me smile

Thanks again for your reply.

G

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2020 09:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8529
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Gil,

Yes, I can see that this was misleading, I should have avoided the terms Global and Local. This is how it works in S22, as it is in the options to select, either with the:
Configure…
Configure Similar…
Configure All
…or
Directly with the View-Settings in the Attribute Manager (Mode), and what editor view or views are selected, that will get the HUD.

Here is a little screen capture:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/3lKtG8s1TB1Tg4COWaD8YutvpLyuCvRxKa6pIlZmtne

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2020 04:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2018-06-06

Hi

Got it now smile

Thanks for that!

G

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2020 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  8529
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks a lot, Gil, you’re very welcome.

Have a nice Sunday.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile