Faulty polygons?
Posted: 20 July 2019 10:58 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2014-03-14

I was able to create the floorplan model very nicely with the House Builder preset, but about halfway through the extrude function for the interior walls began to get flaky. It shows up where two walls join in a “T” intersection. The cap along the top of the T becomes separated from the wall face, creating a gap.

Model is here (still getting that MIME issue on attachments)
https://adobe.ly/2XTKZqh

I have two cameras set up pointing to the defective areas.

This is the second iteration; on the first version I didn’t start noticing the gap until far into the project, and thought perhaps I had done something to cause it. So I started over and kept track of how the walls snapped into shape, and very quickly found that intersections were problematic. Some are fine and some are not. Merging the flaky walls and creating new ones doesn’t fix it. And depending on which section I merge first, I get new gaps in walls that were fine before.

I’m about ready to go back to the polygon pen and just do it the old fashioned way, but this seems like a much quicker/flexible approach - if it’s stable. When I get to the end and everything is done, the “pop” the caps start splitting out like this, that would be very disappointing.

I’m sure it’s just a click box turned off or something simple like that smile

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2019 11:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7531
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi mford610,

Thanks for the file, and choosing a well-known cloud service.

If there is a question to for a tutorial, please ONLY use the >Help< button below the video clip. I will move it to the Q&A now.
https://www.cineversity.com/forums/viewthread/475/
Have you used any specific tutorial?

It is fine when I uncheck the spline objects. I have to explore it more. I really don’t use it.

(…)

As a side note, having worked two decades as an architect, as well as the lead designer in some offices, this plan is an accident waiting to happen. The doors from the garage to the basement are close to being criminal. This should be changed instantly.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 July 2019 11:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2014-03-14

Sorry - I don’t understand where to “turn off spline objects.”

So that fixes everything?

BTW: Agreed on the plan deficits. The primary reason for building the model is to help clarify these sorts of design flaws. It’s a first-time effort. Learning curve and all that.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2019 03:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7531
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks a lot, mford610, for taking it that way, very much appreciated.

There are three Spline objects in the scene, and only when they are off (the green arrow is set to the red X), the problem is gone. I couldn’t find so far any other way to eliminate the problem. Perhaps I have to dig a little bit deeper.

Edit: no support needed, found it, N-Gons was checked on /edit

My best wishes for your project!

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2019 03:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2014-03-14

Ah! That’s very odd - the spline objects are in there to cut the doors and windows into the walls. And you are right, once they are turned off, the cap returns to normal. But that would be a major bug since the splines are an essential component.

Thanks, I will take it up with support.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2019 03:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7531
Joined  2011-03-03

Major if that would be needed, I agree, mford610, but since I suspect that the top of the walls could be done with subdivisions, that would be maybe not too much work.

(…)

Enjoy.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2019 03:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2014-03-14

The plans are being drawn up by a friend, and I offered my assistance to model it. As noted, the plans are in sore need of expert guidance, but I don’t know if he will admit to that. Unfortunately, that’s not a Cinema 4D problem that can be fixed by clicking on a checkbox.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2019 04:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7531
Joined  2011-03-03

P.S.: You were right: ‘I’m sure it’s just a click box turned off or something simple like that’ smile

After all that bragging, hehe, I have to go small and tell you, the Create N-Gon checkbox was on. I missed that. So, try this.

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/wVsGLblEEv7n0MJTh4rtXJpgWFvATAeR4nR7wWaaiB7

All works now. grin I was certain that I checked ever checkbox, wow, let’s blame it on Sundays… Seriously, sorry about your time.

Have a great start into your week.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2019 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2014-03-14

Ah! You were exactly right. This just in from the Tech Support folks:

[start quote]

It appears that for the most part disabling “Create N-Gons” will fix this issue; usually adding more points to the spline will also help the House Builder and Fold My Design to work a little better as well.

Unfortunately, though, we are often just as in the dark as you in regards to these presets as they are created by Nitro Man, creator of other plugins like Thrausi, Catastrophe, etc., and we don’t really know how they work under the hood. Issues with them are best directed to him as he’s the one who coded them and should have a better idea of how to handle anything that comes up:

https://nitro4d.com/contact-us/

[end quote]

Thanks for your speedy response and assistance - as always!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2019 05:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  7531
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for sharing the support reply here, mford610.

It reflects clearly my feeling, as this is undoubtedly one of the few items I don’t really have used ever in any production. Besides, there were only three (?) questions about ever, and that didn’t really put it in front of anything else.

I love to read the reply from the support, as it gives me a little bit of a relieve. As I try to relax everyone here by saying, no-one knows every possible combination or tool in Cinema 4D: which is also the beauty, to specialize in something and stand out.

Yes I tried to cut more points in to the base, but in this case, only the N-Gon option off did the trick.

I hope your visualization work will lead to many improvements to the design!

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile