CV-VRCam - cropping render region
Posted: 30 November 2016 11:39 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-01-10

Hi,
I want to render a horizontal strip of the 360 equirectangular setting.
In my current solution I just use the render region in the render dialog.
But it will of course save the hole resolution as image.
The imagesize is quite big (12000 x 6750).
Is there a way to just save the cropped area of the render region?
I would like to save images with 12000 by 240 pixels.
Any ideas?
Help is much appreciated.
Thanks,
Akira

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2016 08:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
Total Posts:  406
Joined  2006-01-24

Sorry Akira, CV-VRCam doesn’t have a “latitude” range or any other way to render a region other than the method you’re using. I’ll add it to the ideas list for the future.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 December 2016 09:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-01-10

Hi Rick,
thank you for answering my question.
It would be great, if this feature or possibility would be added to CV-VRCam or to Cinema 4D in general. wink
Thanks,
Akira

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 April 2017 10:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2017-04-13

Hi,

I am having the same issue. 

We are working on animations for a full 360° board.  The board size is 21504x1152.  If I render that size the output is squished.  I figured out that if I render at a 2:1 ratio the output looks correct but its now a massive render dimension (21504x10752).  The only way to save render time is to use the Render Region under render settings to render only the area I need, the 21504x1152 and the rest of the extra space is black.

I am attaching images of my Render settings and sample renders.  My CV-VRcam settings are Equirectangular, Pole Merge top set to None, Pole merge bottom set to None.

It would be great if I could render without the extra black.  Does rendering this extra black space increase render time at all?

Thanks,

Luis

Profile