1 of 2
1
CV-VRCam Problem!
Posted: 04 December 2015 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-01-02

Wanted to try this awesome tool out, but when I click “Create Render Settings”, it doesn’t do anything.  I check my render settings and it hasn’t modified them at all.

I’m running:
C4D R16 (16.050)
Mac OS 10.10.5 (Yosemite)

I have no other plugins or 3rd party scripts/resources that could be interfering with this script.  This is a fresh install of C4D.
I downloaded CV-VRCam_v100 and installed manually ( I don’t want to use CV-toolbox ) in the plugins folder.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2015 09:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  10906
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi dotcommer,

I installed it in R17 and it works. I do not see it in the CV-Menu when I open up R16.

The information tells that it works with R17. Perhaps Rick will confirm this or has another idea.

Sorry, to have no solution for you.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2015 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-01-02

Surely we can have at least one previous version of compatibility here, right?  Lets not pull an Adobe here…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2015 10:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  10906
Joined  2011-03-03

Dotcommer, understood, and it is certainly not an artificial nor a forced try to get you on R17.

I guess Rick can clear it – if there is a limitation in R16 and why it is how it is now.

What Adobe does or not might be a nice long discussion. We all have certainly our history with a company so integrated in our day by day work, but it is not the place nor a good idea to start negative stuff. OK? :o)

I hope you can set up your rendering based on the tutorials, and get these done anyway. It is not the only way to do it. Equirectangulars are old stuff, as Rick mentioned it as well in his series, it was possible over a decade ago in C4D already.

My best wishes.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2015 12:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
Total Posts:  24
Joined  2006-11-30

Yes, CV-VRCam was built for R17 and is currently not compatible with R16.

There have been a few other requests for an R16 compatible version. Rick says he will look into it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2015 09:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2006-05-09

Hi,
I had the same problem using V16, hopefully this is something that can be worked out.

Sincerely,
Mike Goldberg

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2015 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  10906
Joined  2011-03-03

HI Mike Goldberg,

When Paul Babb and Rick Barrett have a thumb-up on this, and if it is technically possible, I can see a very good chance for it to happen soon. Stay tuned :o)

I look forward to results from everyone on YouTube then! … will be fun.

Have a good one.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2015 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2006-05-09

Thanks Guys,
That’s why Maxon is the best!

Mike

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 December 2015 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
Total Posts:  406
Joined  2006-01-24

CV-VRCam version 1.1 is now available here on Cineversity and via CV-Toolbox. It adds R15/R16 compatibility and fixes some issues with my original stereo calculations.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 December 2015 11:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2015-11-18

The 1.1 version does not work on Mac OS, opening the demo files I get this message.

Several plugins used in this project are missing.
Saving may cause loss of plugin data!
Plugin ‘CV-VRCam’ (ID 1036331)

And the plug in is only 70k (the 1.0 was 439k).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2015 03:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2006-05-09

Thanks Rick,
This worked on Windows V16.

Mike

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2015 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  10906
Joined  2011-03-03

HI Sandro,

I have checked it, and based on your findings with the file size, I would suggest to delete it and install it again.

Yesterday I notice problems with the web in several areas, e.g., Lynda.com stalled on me. Normally I guess that it is my problem, but based on the 70K file size, I would suggest to try again.

I saw with my todays installment only one difference, I get in R16 only two render settings, in R17 I got three.

Good Luck

Sandro2000 - 08 December 2015 11:19 PM

The 1.1 version does not work on Mac OS, opening the demo files I get this message.

Several plugins used in this project are missing.
Saving may cause loss of plugin data!
Plugin ‘CV-VRCam’ (ID 1036331)

And the plug in is only 70k (the 1.0 was 439k).

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2015 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2015-11-18

I have the same size for the Folder but could you check the CV-VRCam.dylib file? it is only 70 kb too small for a plugin.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2015 09:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Avatar
Total Posts:  10906
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Sandro,

The “.dylib” is here is as well 70KB for the R16 and 439KB for the R17. (KiloByte as in KB, not kb as in kilobit!)

As there are two plug-in folders (Library path and Application folder), make sure that there is nothing left from an eventually trial installment of an older /R17 plug-in!

Perhaps search your Mac for “CV-VR”, just in case, to get anything old out of it.

If that isn’t working, besides an following new installation and restart, I guess I’m out of ideas.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials. Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2015 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
Total Posts:  406
Joined  2006-01-24

I just double-checked and CV-VRCam 1.1 works fine on two different Macs here. The smaller file size is likely just a result of differences when compiling in R15 vs R17. As Dr. Sassi suggested, make sure you don’t have any earlier versions installed in either the Application or Prefs plugins folders and try re-installing. If you continue to have issues, check to see if there’s any warnings in the console (Shift-F10).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2015 06:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]  
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2006-05-09

Hi Guys,
I love the plug in.  We are venturing into some VR, and learning as we go.
I would love to post a few tests, and a scene file, to get some of your expert opinions on approach.
Is that appropriate for this particular forum?

Mike

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1