A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Combining Advanced Biped and Face Rig
Posted: 15 January 2022 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2021-08-25

hello,

I am very new to rigging. I have a character that needs fairly simple animation, a spokesperson giving information, not wildly expressive or dynamic. I started to work with the Toon Rig, but i don’t like the stretchy limbs. Is there a way to disable that? If not, I think i managed to combine Face and Advanced Biped, as seen in the attached image. When I do a quick bind, things seem to move ok. Before i get too much deeper with weighting, are there any problems with this arrangement?

I haven’t been able to find a comparison of the different rigs anywhere, is there anything like that available? Which facial rig is better or worse for what? Which control panel? Advantages? I am happy to put in the time absorbing information, but I prefer it complete and organized.

btw the Toon Rig tutorial is good, but it calls some things by different names, and skips steps, and is a bit fast. Remember a lot of us are seeing this all for the first time. Like, every beginner.

thanks in advance for any help.

Posted: 15 January 2022 07:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi schnoidl,

Please have a look here:

https://www.cineversity.com/vidplaylist/face_rig_tutorial/face_rig_tutorial_-_attaching_the_face_to_a_body

Character animation, especially with distinctive facial expressions, is undoubtedly a major skill to develop. That needs time.