A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Boston Terrier Illustration: Using Polygon Pen to Add Modeling Detail
Posted: 23 April 2020 07:02 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2020-04-14

Hello, I’m new to C4D.  I have been following this tut and have a question about the part where you converted the subdivision surface to the cube.  Can you tell me how you did that?  I tried typing “C” while the SS was highlighted in the Object Panel.  It looked like it applied it to the cube.  Next in the tutorial, you deleted the SS from the stack which left just the cube.  When I deleted the SS, everything disappeared.  What am I not doing or doing wrong please?
Thank you.

Posted: 23 April 2020 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi zonkerzebra,

Are you referring to this tutorial:
Boston Terrier Illustration: Using Polygon Pen to Add Modeling Detail
At 06:00 to 06:10 [min:sec]?
Please use the Help Button while you are viewing the tutorial you have a question about. Otherwise, it will create some chaos, and the forum will render difficult to use for this question.

He selected the Subdivision Surface SDS, pressed the C key, which turned the SDS into a Null. The resulting subdivision is then incorporated into the cubes mesh.

Please open a fresh new scene and check it out, perhaps something was not OK with the project file.

Please have a look at how it works in S22, I made a screen-capture for you:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/d20t7Up635bArDyqBGtaZdX1v0m5Iu1E1FWdJ9FdaJE

Let me know if that works for you.

Cheers, stay safe, stay healthy.

Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.
Cinema 4D Mentor since 2004
Maxon Master Trainer, VES, DCS

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

NEW:

NEW: Cineversity [CV4]