A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Bevelled voxel art - Cannot work out how to get even Bevel all over
Posted: 11 October 2018 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2018-10-11

Hi all

I’m fairly new to C4D and I am trying to create bevelled voxel art. This means that essentially, I want to create scenes that consist entirely of cubes, but all right angles on my objects should be rounded (both outwards and inwards). I don’t want any sharp corners, nor touching curves that look like the cross-section of a butt (sorry, can’t think of a better explanation!). The problem is that the Bevel effect really depends on the arrangement of the polygons and I can’t seem to get this right.

I first started off importing voxel-based objects from MagicaVoxel (a free Voxel editor) but the polygons in C4D end up looking messy, making the bevel unpredictable. So Instead, I am now trying to model all objects from scratch in C4D. I’ve had a go at merging cube objects together into new objects, working with extrudes and using the polygon pen. I’ve wrestled with the weld, optimise, untrianguale, stitch&sew;, meld etc. functions but I can’t work out a way of modelling polygons to lead to the desired bevel effect.

I am attaching a picture of my work in progress. On the left pink object, you can see touching curves (the “butt-cross-section”), resulting from extrudes. The side of the object that is facing us has a groove / fold, even though the face looks flat when removing the bevel. I guess there are some some internal co-planar surfaces, so the bevel treats the parts separately. The top of the object is looking nice.