Problem with Xpresso and Pose Morphs. Any help appreciated!
Posted: 12 September 2018 10:37 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

Im struggling with how to use xpresso with a simple mouth rig on a character. I have a series of poses in a pose morph tag for the mouth, and a set of upper and lower teeth on splines. Im trying to link the strength of the pose to changing the Y value of upper and lower teeth to matvh the mouth pose. It works on one pose, but when I add second pose from pose morph it then works for that one but the previous one then doesnt work and teeth don’t move. Any suggestions?, see screenshot. Thanks

Image Attachments
help.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 September 2018 10:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5853
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi sevenofone,

based on your description I try to get a scene file, that might help to find your solutions. Fingers crossed.

Sorry, I do not work from images, there is too much missing in it. Scene files only. Reduced to the absolute bare problem, no 3rd party stuff in it, thanks.

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/m46H454qGZNe8uGz8eHRgKxoHVDt09tbamq5ViOeekV

The Null can move things, the Cube (character) can be rotated and moved as well, and the two pose values will move the spheres, and they should be each close to the edge that moves with the pose slider.

Perhaps taking information from the face, a point might be more efficient. Not having a scene file, makes this a guess, and so I stop here.

Cheers

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2018 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

Hi, Thanks for that but I just can’t work it out, i’ve not used too much Xpresso. I have a stripped scene file here. The difference from yous is i am adding the teeth upper and lower in multiple times to the expression with multiple range mappers, 1 per pose. I need the Y values to be different on upper and lower depending on the pose.

Thanks

Garry

File Attachments
test_rig_mouthmorph.zip  (File Size: 57KB - Downloads: 16)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 September 2018 09:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5853
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Garry,

What you have set up is just writing a Y value for Pose.0 only to be overwritten by Pose.1

There is a hierarchy and priority in it. The last one wins.

What you need is to add or subtract the value, or set both into a max comparison.

Anyway, my suggestion would be to explore the Driver Tag.
https://help.maxon.net/us/#TDRIVER

Anyway, here is you file back with the min or max set up.
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/jVOrsnG0EoKsrozVzVNhWMk9X9GaJkkcp7CuXhaBFLJ

Please have also a look in the Xpresso Editor> X-Manager, it should go from top to bottom, or in other words first things calculated on top, last thing on the bottom (which eventually over writes the top!)

Here is more about the formula
https://help.maxon.net/us/#6194

The Formula node takes input one as $1 and the next as $2, etc. In this way you can fill in the formulas.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2018 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

Hi, Thanks for that, I’ve added a few poses to the test scene and using ($1;$4) for the formula using 4 poses, it seems to work fine. Thank you so much for your help on this.

People keep saying I should be using Maya to learn character modelling, rigging and animation but I don’t see why it can’t be done in Cinema as I find it by far the most intuitive and user friendly 3D package around.

Regards


Garry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2018 04:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

correction, it’s not working. (S1;$4) only doing pose 1 and 4. Can’t seem to find the formula to take more than 2 inputs?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 September 2018 08:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5853
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi sevenofone,

The simple answer is, you create it.

The formula for four is
max(max($1;$2);max($3;$4))
It takes the max from two groups and then the max from the result of the two. Which can be expanded nearly endlessly.
You need to drag out more inputs on the Formula node. IF needed put the Range mapper first for each to be able to fine tune the result.

Scene file, click on the Null> User Data.
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/ifkHW13UOUulpNPWBKT03Cu2HX7Wog063uDd9WTnVMK

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2018 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

Hi,

Thanks, that is all working in the final scene now. Of course one issue I will have is what the Y value should be for the teeth upper and lower if I mix some morph sliders, but will cross that bridge when I come to it.

Best Regards


Garry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 September 2018 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5853
Joined  2011-03-04

You’re very welcome, Garry, thanks for taking the time.

I would use the RangeMapper to have a good option for adjustments.

If there is anything else, let me know.

My best wishes for your project.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2018 04:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

Hi,

Sorry, thought I was finished with this but I have hit a snag. One of the poses is open mouth and all others are mouth closing. So for mouth closing the max formula works and the lower teeth are always going one way which is positive Y.

When i get to the open mouth pose, the lower teeth go to a -Y position so it needs to use min value not max. Same trouble with upper teeth that has a min formula node plugged into it. The open mouth pose requires positive max value instead. Is there a way to create a formula for instance that uses max value for ports $1,2,3,4 but min for ports $5 and $6?

So in summary out of 6 ports to lwr teeth, i want it to use the max value of Y for ports 1 to 4, but the max value for ports 5 and 6.

Regrds


Garry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 September 2018 09:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5853
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Garry,

So the pose 1-4 moves the teeth in one direction and 5+6 in the opposite. Since I assume we talk here about 0%-100%, you can place a Range Mapper for 5+6 so they can be easily used in this set up. In other words, if the would be on their lowest, they produce for the evaluation in the Formula the highest. I used one time the Subtraction (Math) node, to create a simpler variation.

The value of the output is ) while 1-4 is 0% and 5+6 is 100% Or any combination where 1-4 is 100% or any of 5+6 is 0% will result in 1. Whereby the resulting value 0-1 can be turned into every value with a RangeMapper.

Have a look:
scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/zWZCRcCdPIHGzM0D9Klih2Xlb1nPhT5QqPAIEX8uN1

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2018 04:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2017-04-09

Hi,

Thanks for that, it gave me a different way of thinking about it. Ended up doing it a slightly different way by outputting the formula into another formula and using the output value of pose 6 rangemapper into a math node to make 0. Then used just 2 ports on last formula that would carry value of formula 1 output and add the port 2 which is 0 until slider is used on port 6. This then reverses the direction for output of teeth. Thanks for all your help finally finsihed it lol.

Image Attachments
Capture2.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 September 2018 08:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5853
Joined  2011-03-04

Nice that this thread jumpstarted your own ideas, Garry, thanks for the feedback.

My best wishes for your project.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
‹‹ Cloner with vertex      motext not rendering ››