Create manual iteration list?
Posted: 28 February 2018 05:44 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2016-10-05

Hello,

I will simplify the example to make it easier to understand; Suppose I have a spline with 100 points:

Whenever an object distance is less than 5 cm of the spline points 1, 15, 70 and 100 the object is going to be scale down.

My question is, Can I type a manual iteration list?, in this case it will be an iteration of 4 but the output will give me 1,15,70,100

Cheers!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 February 2018 10:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5693
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi JVerdugo,

Here is a simple set up that would give you exactly that:

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/gtgIIqDQJ5CrBD0ioRshscTFVTgu6Y4M4XzBm1nuG4T

Please note that the Selection Iteration would do exactly this, but selections on Splines have some problems from time to time.
https://help.maxon.net/#GVSELECTION-ID_GVPORTS

In the X-Pool you might find also some interesting System Set Presets, but this content has changed over the years often, so here is just a hint.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 March 2018 11:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5693
Joined  2011-03-03

P.S.: I’m not aware what the project is, but I like to share some ideas. Please note that the …_01.c4d and the …_21.c4d are very similar.

Scene files …_01.c4d to …_31.c4d
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/gNyFbOYTndJITS3D3M0rLzLLAyRKcbxkZy0TyedWIZw

I feel aways a little bit uncertain with Python, but perhaps that little script helps to keep things “small”,
Scene file:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/MPPx0NbuVGRBSzj6HgCOlEIHyKgF5PlgfCfvhFhI5hZ

Enjoy

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2018 04:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2016-10-05

Really thanks for the examples Dr. Sassi.

Never thought about condition node to use it that way. Just for curiosity; Instead of connecting one node per value, Is there a way to input only one node, that has all the values in one line. Maybe with the formula node?

Cheers!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2018 10:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5693
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi JVerdugo,

This would be a Python list perhaps.
https://www.programiz.com/python-programming/list
But that would be a discussion for the Python forum over at Maxon
http://www.plugincafe.com/forum/default.asp

However, here is a sketch, please test it carefully:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/BLKGlaiBGN8MJ1ull9hwLk2m94i3DYxxxHuIGtv8XQf

Another way, is just to set the point values of a Plane Polygon object to the values you like, it can be set or read with the Iteration and point node.
Scene file and screen shot
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/hk37vwJaQSE6FKEuJqQNm7HhMNs7N3w79K34NV1vw23
The key is perhaps here, that you can import and export ASCI in the Structure Manger. Load a new list into an empty Main Menu> Create> Polygon Object (or just delete the data) as import adds data, it doesn’t replace it.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile