R19 PSD morph do not render?
Posted: 29 January 2018 07:24 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2016-02-22

Hi

Its come to my attention by another C4D user that PSD morphs new to r18 do not render out?  Being the nature of this feature to for morphs to be automatically driven it should not be a issue of setting keys, should not have to, any button, feature needs to be used for a animation with PSD morphs to render out?

Thanks, Dan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 January 2018 10:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5237
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi Dan,

I have tried in the past hour to reproduce this. Sorry, I can’t.

The feature that was introduced to R19 (not R18) works nicely here when rendered.

Here is a little clip:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/PDxet5Xr8WoAKznUazrdQio0HP4XsXRMM0YZ8yibCgZ

Perhaps your friend gets in contact with the support to clear his/her problem.
https://www.maxon.net/en-us/support/how-can-we-help/

If you currently work on something that has that problem as well, you can set up a simple scene where the problem that you have shows up clearly, and where the rendering isn’t working. Check the priorities of course.
Please let me know which Joint Pose (e.g., at which frame) the correction should take place.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 January 2018 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2016-02-22

Hi

It only renders a still frame, not a animation.  It will use the PSD on what ever frame its on, but not animated.

Dan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 January 2018 11:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5237
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the extra info, Dan.

Yes, that is obviously not working with a full render. I tried all (?) combinations of “Priorities”, and yet it doesn’t show up at all, or always (as in pose-morph yes, correction based on joints: no). But in the Editor view it works.

I would say, please check with the support, this needs attention, and we all have a problem to set it up, the the manual needs an update.

Workaround, Object Manager>Tags>Character>Point Cache the animation, then switch off the Skin Object (other wise it doubles the information).

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 January 2018 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2016-02-22

Thanks for confirming this.  I use Steady bake plugin for PLA so this works, but if the animation was a complex long animation that would take some time to convert.

Il get onto Maxon about this bug.

Dan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 January 2018 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5237
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks a lot, Dan.

I assume always that I might miss something, hence why I invest time to stress all (?) options. With the large amount of functions in C4D, it is easy to miss one, or two wink
Anyway, the main philosophy is, it should be straight forward to do, as far as possible, without scarifying functionality. If there is no option to get it properly working, even following the manual, then it needs attention.

The “Total Average Output” shows me that it works, while moving the time-slider. The Priority settings have an influence, but I haven’t found a working sweet-spot either.

I have had RMC on the Total Average Output, to create a Driver, and then used this in an Text Object to be driven absolute, so I can see during the rendering if that value is given. It is stuck with the value where the editor view time is. I guess that should be easily fixable.

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/tFLbiD0C51DhuZzTWyQmlDHxqKKxzafDygIJFpJ6xiR

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 January 2018 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2016-02-22

Hi just to update this thread.  Maxon got back to me and said its a known Bug to be fixed.

Thanks, Dan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 January 2018 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  5237
Joined  2011-03-03

Thank you, Dan!

Yes, I submitted it instantly, based on your input!

I hope it is soon fixed.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile