1 of 2
1
disable Inheriting cloner effector attributes?
Posted: 03 August 2017 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2017-01-05

I want to put cloners on cloners without the children inheriting the attributes of the parents.  for example, i have cubes cloned onto random scaled spheres.  i want the cubes to all be the same size, regardless of the object it is on. can i do this and still retain the original cloner?

File Attachments
cloneScalingIssue.zip  (File Size: 76KB - Downloads: 19)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 August 2017 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi SethO,

Please have a look at the two options that I have attached in this zip file:

Scene files
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/OhouXxuhxLAhvvYLGog3OM5XWGGcUCMkxnPDSpl1olM

The fastest way might be, to have a Connect Object recreating all the geometry, before it is delivered to the next Cloner. _01 (It might have a tendency to slow things down, if you have a much larger scene.)

The second file _11 takes the Spheres into a Matrix, to create the PSR for the next step. But the Inheritance Effector> Parameter is set to P:yes S:no R: yes. So no scale is delivered to the Cloner Object.
The XPresso is used to deliver the amount needed, as that is not inherited.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 02:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2017-01-05

ok!  new follow up question:

goal - randomly create doors and windows along the exterior of a building created by cloned spheres without converting to polygons along the way. 

question - Can i drive the cloner location using the intersection of another cloner object and a plane?  (ie, put doors around edges on ground)

i tried a proximal shader direction, but it fell apart quickly cause of the procedural base shapes have no actual vectors or edges.  I thought, maybe i could just clone them all along the surfaces, and then somehow define the Y position independently.  maybe a plain effector could do an absolute value the same for every clone, but i can’t find out. 

thanks a ton for your help, Dr. Sassi.  You and this forum keep me from giving up!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the nice feedback, SethO.

Would that come close? So, the green one for example is a door that fits closer to the edges than the previous one…
Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/SCxWp4xxbuiHFieU5DyjjvmzxqWtBfGldd51qsSpr5F

OR should it be on the edge until a new area clone would be taken this place (No idea about how to do it, just checking my understanding of the question. Perhaps a Boole Operation could lead to this…

A scene file with some pointers would be nice, or is it the same file as the one above.

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 03:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2017-01-05

ok, here is the file.  you can see the cloner “doors”. i narrowed their location using a plane effector to hide, but they still drift up and down a bit.  i want to give them a solid Y location so they can only exist on the ground plane. 

none of this!  http://sacramentoappraisalblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/Door-heading-to-parking-lot1.jpg

edit: added file.

File Attachments
clone_domes_0001.zip  (File Size: 260KB - Downloads: 19)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 03:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the file, SethO,

The spheres are not moving, and the floor is stable, is this correct?
Any of these doors has to start at floor level, right?
I assume so, I will take a look into that. (No idea so far…)

Talk to you soon.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 05:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

Here is an example, SethO.

Since I missed a couple of plug ins for your scene, I have set up a new file. Certainly simplified.

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/p0bqHaelpYpqdVffP3yESxSJikb7Nsz55fzSSqj6KFi

The core idea is to produce information where it is needed. Then use the MoGraph selection To determine where to put the doors. Since that is a fixed indexing, and change of the scen will result in a perhaps drastic change there, so safe often, at least.
I introduced an extra step with the Polygon Object, as the Edge setting in the Cloner Object determines the scale along the edge. To keep the orientation, but get rid of the limitation, the Polygon Object is placed and this information is then used in the last Object Cloner. Oriented, but not limited at all.

The Doors (cubes) have their parametrically axis in the center, so the doors have a symmetrical counterpart in the soil. THis could be prefented if needed, but I guess you have a door model and there the axis will be on the floor level.

All the best


P.S.: as an after thought, if you render the spheres anyway as Primitives, the segment count could be much lower (including the floor disc), so the Boole workload will be less, and the MoGraph Selection lighter as well.
Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/Q8wfKdPx6oUquKzpUgFiekOdyz1z9YcyGZFM2zfJH6K
Looks rough, but render it…

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 08:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

SethO,

Here is a little sketch. I have yet to find a more Cloner based way to integrate it, though.

Anyway, just for fun—in short, pull the P.Y up and down and the “door/entrances” will stay on the floor at zero. With MoGraph Selection a quick decision can be made to place the “door/entrances’.

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/EIhTTdNoR4RQxxWeEJKgZXyyOE1z2MU7k8YzzO9IWEq

ENJOY

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 August 2017 11:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2017-01-05

ah, amazing!  ok, I will study these and get back to you.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 August 2017 08:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

You’re very welcome, SethO, thank you.

Let me know if there is a question.

Enjoy you weekend

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2017 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2017-01-05

Alrighty:

I think i found a way, but its got a snag.  I have to make the object editable for the spline to work.  attached file shows the spline mask vs the spline, but they have surprisingly different results.  do you know how i can get the spline mask to work?

File Attachments
splineMaskFail.zip  (File Size: 64KB - Downloads: 18)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2017 04:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

Yes, SethO, that is the way it goes, been there, sorry to say that, but so far I haven’t found a way to Boole Splines coming from a Cloner.

I can’t really tell if there is an plug in even for that.

What you could do, add your voice here:

https://www.maxon.net/en-us/support/suggestions/

OK, perhaps you have a follow up idea, as I miss at the moment the P.Y movement translation… (perhaps as done in a file above!?), here it must be zero for that to work, and so no fit for your scene, as shared below, just an initial sketch.

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/ikjvbetWomcIurAwUnbK3ibgGQMisaD4GKrD02VqMm2

Screen shot:
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/IUqarkraeqSorKWmUhfGI1QY1THzmbCc234BwQzuEeF

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2017 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

P.S.: Not that I found a way to combine Cloner Object based Spline objects, but something close to it.

To given an overview what it is and how to expand it, here is an one minute clip:
Screen capture
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/Fj9ZTYUvmvPdI6CCyMqokNGxaCEPdN9jazVcfCALJpE

And here is the file that was shown in the clip:
Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/UbASfHPSSX3cSxPbrjYU9kpQkwQMPQKX3q73KBWccLi

Enjoy

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2017 10:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

P.S.2: I guess that is more fun to work with than the one in post #12, even I love the Spline outline a lot.

This one takes the Voronoi Fracture object and splits the Sphere houses at ground level. I created a little gap (this can be closed), so the MoGraph Selection work is easier. (Sometimes two polygons were on top of each other.)

In this little one minute clip I give you an rough over view, and in fact it is all based on the Voronoi Fracture generated “Surface Break Edges”. It is that simple, just click in the Selections part of the Voronoi Fracture, and the selection is created.

Screen capture
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/JTTsZ3boNOIOhyKm7AQDAtCu9YS9hmKa9qfnomwLVkH

This selection is then used to create these little polygons. I added this step to orient the clones. (At least one will have none to look at.)

Then the last step is to create the doors/entrances where they are needed. As before, I understand the set up as static result.

Here is the file

Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/Yz0pVYouQJ2qOJ5q4qmeMLJpWQCLsHliJQjjpJAAYLH

Just for fun a little sketch, if windows should be done in a similar way.
Scene file
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/g1poIkjHrdiXIBkniKOzUfUioaiAj440Amu611lHZVi

I hope that works for you, let me know if there are any question

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2017 07:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2017-01-05

AH OK

Mograph Tracer, “connect elements” of the spline mask.  clone to tracer.  BAM!!!


edit:  it MOSTLY works.  when the spheres come apart, they can have long connectors.  but its still pretty cool. Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2017 08:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4778
Joined  2011-03-03

Yes, SethO, the Tracer has no concept of split or creating Spline Segments at certain conditions, and then later perhaps not.

I hope post #12 or post #13 has something for you.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1