A new version of Cineversity has been launched. This legacy site and its tutorials will remain accessible for a limited transition period

Visit the New Cineversity

Displacer seems not to update
Posted: 08 February 2017 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2015-04-01

Hi Guys,

im fairly new to Cinema4d, so prob something stupid im not aware of.
But in this instance i have a sphere with a displacer deformer on it in a group. If i rotate the group it stretches the displacement over the sphere during the animation, Ugly!!!. If i rotate the sphere itself , all goes well. I need them to be in a group. I tried it with a contraint to the group, that works fine too. So all goes well as long as the rotate input is in the channels of the sphere itself.
The displacer has a regular/procedural noise texture on it , with space set to texture. The type is set to intensity(centered) and direction is vertex normal.  It looks like its not updating normal direction during rotation.

Anyone understands what i mean and knows what im missing. Because i dont like the workaround. And i quess this should be possible to do quite easy.

thanks Geurt

Posted: 08 February 2017 05:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
Total Posts:  12043
Joined  2011-03-04

Hi Geurt,

Please contact the Support. I deleted my previous message here. (It works fine, until the sphere is placed under a null, and rotated by that null.)
There is no direct way to work around it, it needs to be fixed in the app. The Constrain is a great idea, but it should work without, as I tested it on previous versions.
It is an refresh problem, and in on set up, while refreshed on the last frame, it destroyed the first. A render test showed, that this is not updated during rendering.

https://www.maxon.net/en-us/support/how-can-we-help/

It becomes even more evident while Refresh>Backface Cull is enabled.

Sorry for your trouble, and that is not how it should work.

All the best

Signature