No lights visable when in fracture object
Posted: 30 January 2017 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

Whenever i put lights into a fracture object, they quit working.  How do i get them to work?

File Attachments
noLightFractureObject.zip  (File Size: 80KB - Downloads: 46)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2017 09:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for the file, SethO.

Sorry for the delay in answering, I had to take two days off, as mentioned in my “absence note”. I tried to answer, but I had only an iPhone with me and the Forum refused to take my reply.

I can open your scene and it works nicely. Set both lights to shadow and have a look from above the scene, I can see both shadows.

The cubes look differently, as they have no material applied to them. In this way the “Transform” color values will affect (light and) surface. In this case the light not so much as it is both 100%.

Let me know what I miss.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2017 09:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

Hello Dr Sassi!  I hope everything is ok and your travels were good.

Attached are a few images.  they show the lighting differences.  You can tell with the “fracOb_on” image, the light is disabled for some reason.  this is using the uploaded file, r18, physical render, windows 10.


zip link:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mxhec2svkgms7zu/frac object lights on vs off.zip?dl=0


was getting an error “The file you are attempting to upload has invalid content for its MIME type.” for my zip file through cineversity.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2017 10:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks for asking, SethO, all is fine. I hope you are doing fine as well.

The difference is based on the Fracture Object:

Select the Fracture Object, then go to the Attribute Manager> Transform>Color. Change the color and you will see what is causing it.

Use materials and it will eliminate this.

All the best

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/HX2Paj9bFQQoimOGe0oyt8VRixs6bBqpUbJirGBx1VB?ref_=cd_ph_share_link_copy

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2017 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

I see the color of the object has changed, but my concern was about the Light. 
The light inside the fracture object does not work. how do i make it work with the fracture object enabled?

File Attachments
CV2_r18_drs_17_MGfr_02.zip  (File Size: 109KB - Downloads: 42)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 February 2017 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Have you set the lights to shadow?
Did you noticed that the light is green as well?
Have you set materials to both?
Do you see the two lights on the floor?

It makes obviously no sense to look at another file.
SethO, if all of that is not working on your side, you should contact the support.

It works here flawlessly, and this puts me in a position that I can’t do anything for you.

https://www.maxon.net/en/support/how-can-we-help/

My best wishes

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 February 2017 03:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

ok, your questions help! Thank you, I will contact support.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 February 2017 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Fingers crossed, SethO, that they have an answer for you.

Here is what I can see and that is not in sync with one of your two images.

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/cSxl0JiuoK6R6IGoXqBlTgDIV7WAGlRjDSP8FXDdcK5?ref_=cd_ph_share_link_copy


All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 February 2017 03:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

ah, you are more fortunate than I.  hahahah, to be continued.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 February 2017 03:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Not really fortunate, as I can’t help here.

You are on the newest version, right.

My best wishes with the support.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2017 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

Ok, so support said this is a known bug and new to r18.  They said it wasn’t in the beta but somehow regressed. no ETA on fixing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 February 2017 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Thanks a for the update, SethO.

I’m not supposed to talk about anything beta (super strict NDA), so I feel something between chairs.

Thank you very much for keep going.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2017 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2017-01-05

Ok, update:

Couldn’t get the lights to work on R18 when inside a fracture object.  So, I moved them out, reset the light settings, regrouped under a null (called “FratureLights”), AND THEN, I put an Expresso tag on the new group and used a Data node!!!  This allowed me to pipe the same movement from the fracture to my lights group. 

I’m not sure how scaleable this is, but it worked great for the procedural noise on one null.

Image Attachments
fracture_data.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2017 05:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Hi SethO,

If it works for you, nice! The Screen shot tells me that the light is now always at Clone #0. (If not set up internally in a different way))

(Sorry about the late reply, the forum doesn’t work with my iPhone and I was on the airport, getting my pilot [107] license. So I was a little bit busy.)

Let me know if you have any further question.

You mentioned “scalable”, let me add, if you can tell me the final target, perhaps I can share more. Typically each part in a Fracture becomes an ID number, based on that, it is relatively simple to set up an XPresso Node Tree to get things working in the way you like.

Enjoy your project.

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2017 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

P.S.: Please have a look to the file below
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/uJZaUkMfsDBJc7ii0jzeU8zpC6bkuTTQXzdG0CpQ3R9?ref_=cd_ph_share_link_copy

The cubes can be used, or only while setting positions or being under the influence of an Effector. So, practically, without effector, the cubes could be just moved around. Even rotation of the cubes could be used to direct Spot lights.

The XPresso takes the amount of elements under the Fracture and sets up the same amount of light sources via the Cloner Object. Then the Inheritance Effector takes the PSR from the Fracture children and provides it to the Cloner Object.

You can just place new objects under the Fracture and the light will be set up automatically.

The Random Effector and the Environment is optional.

All the best

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2017 11:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
Total Posts:  4636
Joined  2011-03-03

Workaround for now:

https://www.cineversity.com/forums/viewthread/648/

Post #15

 Signature 

Dr. Sassi V. Sassmannshausen Ph.D.

Photography For C4D Artists: 200 Free Tutorials: Texture, Panorama, HDRI, Camera Projection, etc.
https://www.youtube.com/user/DrSassiLA/playlists

Profile